Parliament passes Technical University Bill

Parliament passes Technical University Bill
Source: Ghana | | Austin Brakopowers | Email:
Date: 04-08-2016 Time: 05:08:49:am

The Bill to convert six out of the 10 polytechnics into a fully fledged university has received a unanimous approval of Ghanaian legislators Wednesday.

Deputy Education Minister, Alex Kyeremeh, moved the motion for the third reading of the Technical University Bill, 2016 resulting in its passage into law.

The Law has the express mandate to convert the Accra, Kumasi, Koforidua, Ho, Takoradi and Sunyani polytechnics into universities.

This means that they now have the power to offer various degree programmes starting September 2016.

They will operate under the technical university system.

Chief Administrators of the polytechnics addressed as Rectors, will now be referred to as Vice Chancellors. They will have to ensure that their schools do not deviate from what makes them unique from the maintream universities.

The polytechnic universities are to train the next industrial human resources for the nation.

The decision to convert the six schools came with challenges as government was accused of masterminding the elimination of the Cape Coast Polytechnic.

Some educationists including the former Vice Chancellor of the University of Ghana, Professor Ernest Aryeetey discredited the move arguing the change of name is the usual window dressing of the challenges in the education sector.

They believe if government wants to help polytechnics in the country, it has to focus on meeting their infrastructural needs.

But the Polytechnic Teachers Association of Ghana (POTAG) lauded it as one of the best ways to make their certificates valued in the job market.


Have your say  

More News Headlines

What others are reading
SONA 2019: Akufo-Addo announces new curriculum for KG to P6
SONA 2019: Akufo-Addo breaks silence over Menzgold saga
SONA 2019: Akufo-Addo pays tribute to fallen heroes in 2018
SONA 2019: I'm mindful of next generation not next election – Akufo-Addo