NPP suspends Kwabena Agyepong, Crabbe indefinitely

NPP suspends Kwabena Agyepong, Crabbe indefinitely
Source: Ghana ||Edwin.Appiah|
Date: 10-12-2015 Time: 05:12:49:pm

The National Executive Committee (NEC) of the opposition New Patriotic Party has upheld a decision by the party's Disciplinary Committee to suspend its General Secretary Kwabena Agyepong and 2nd Vice Chairman Sammy Crabbe Joy News has learnt.

Both of them were handed indefinite suspensions. The decision was announced, Thursday, after a marathon meeting held by the NEC members at the party's headquarters in Asylum Down Accra.

The suspensions follow a petition brought forth by some NPP members who accused the General Secretary and the second Vice Chairman of undermining the party’s authority.

The two were accused of publicly rebelling against the party's decision to indefinitely suspend the national chairman, Paul Afoko.

In an interview on October 28, Kwabena Agyepong's spokesperson told Joy News he does not recognise the acting Chairman Freddie Blay. The General Secretary himself repeated same when he was interviewed during the EC forum on the bloated register.

The second vice chairman who was out of the country described the decision as illegal and minced no words in chiding the Freddie Blay led executive which took over from Afoko.

Their utterances are believed to have emboldened the petitioners, Chris Arthur, Former TESCON-KNUST President; Adreba Kwaku Abrefa Damoa, London; Kwabena Afum Dankwa, London; and Kwame Baffoe, NPP Regional Youth Organiser, Brong Ahafo to demand sanctions against the two

They stated in their petition filed November 4, 2015 that;

“Kwabena Agyepong has rubbished, and keeps rubbishing the suspension of Afoko from his chairmanship. This in our view is an act of mischievous contempt for the authority of the Party as a whole, including its elders, its leadership, and its structures.”

Similar petitions were sent to the party's Disciplinary Committee against Crabbe.

When the Disciplinary Committee invited the two men to answer the allegations leveled against them by the petitioners, Agyepong heeded to the call and respectfully submitted himself before the committee and was reported to have apologised for his previous conducts.

Sammy Crabbe however failed to appear before the committee. He challenged the authority of the committee to invite him.

His failure to appear before the committee did not stop the committee from meeting and taking a decision.

The committee recommended that the two be suspended for their misconducts and the NEC has upheld the recommendations, Joy News' Kwakye Afreh Nuamah reported.

According to him, the suspended General Secretary was pleading for mercy.

An NPP women swept away Kwabena Agyepong and Sammy Crabbe

In reality, signs of Kwabena Agyepong and Sammy Crabbe's suspension were written on the wall after their key ally on the National Executive Committee, Paul Afoko was suspended indefinitely.

Paul Afoko’s exit left Kwabena Agyepong and Crabbe isolated and vulnerable.

Photo: Kwabena Agyepong announced the decision to suspend Afoko

Paul Afoko, Sammy Crabbe and Kwabena Agyepong have acted in concert ever since they were elected into office at the Congress held in Tamale.

Perhaps the only time the General Secretary did anything without the support of Paul Afoko was when he announced the party’s decision to suspend him.


A press statement explaining the party's decision has since been released.

NPP NEC Meeting

At its meeting on Thursday 10th December, 2015 the NPP National Executive Committee (NEC) considered the report of the National Disciplinary Committee on petitions against the conduct of the General Secretary, Mr. Kwabena Adjei Agyepong and the 2nd Vice Chairman, Mr. Sammy Crabbe.

The petitioners in the case of Mr. Kwabena Agyepong, were Messrs. Christopher Arthur, Fred Addai, Amadu Kalim, Iddrisu Musa, Owusu Ansah and K.T Hammond.

The NEC acknowledged and commended Mr. Kwabena Agyepong for his full cooperation and attendance at the Disciplinary Committee hearings.

At the end of its deliberations, the NEC decided by unanimous decision of all 45 members present, to suspend Mr. Kwabena Agyepong indefinitely from the position of NPP General Secretary. 

The gravamen of the petitions against Mr. Agyepong included;

  1. Violation of Article 3(D) of the NPP constitution which enjoins members to publicly uphold the decisions of the party, through various acts including;
  1. His disregard for NEC decision on 23rd October, 2015, suspending Mr. Paul Afoko.
  1. Various Public statements he made that cast the Party in bad light.
  1. He engaged in unilateral actions and activities without consultation of, or authorization by the NEC, such as;
  1. Writing to the Electoral Commission designating only himself and suspended Chairman Afoko as the only authorized signatories.
  2. Granting waivers to parliamentary aspirants
  3. Non-reference of legal matters to the proper legal Committee of the Party
  4. Interference with Constituency primaries against National Appeal Committee decisions and also, Court decisions.
  5. Misrepresentation/misleading of NEC on status of some constituency primaries
  6. He, in conjunction with suspended Chairman Afoko and Sammy Crabbe, launched Party cards without authorizations from NEC.

The meeting also considered the report of the Disciplinary Committee on petitions against Mr. Sammy Crabbe, 2nd National Vice Chairman. The meeting also by unanimous decision upheld the recommendation of the Disciplinary Committee to suspend Mr. Crabbe indefinitely from his position as NPP 2nd National Vice Chairman. 

The petitioners against Mr. Crabbe were Mr. Boye Laryea and Madam Gladys Mann-Dede, both former Greater Accra Regional executives.

The gravamen of the petition against Mr. Sammy Crabbe involved his violation of article 3 (D) on the duties of a member. Mr. Sammy Crabbe on several occasions publicly went against the NEC decision on the 23rd October, 2015 suspending Mr. Paul Afoko. 

He also in conjunction with Mr. Afoko and Kwabena Agyepong launched party membership cards and fundraising activities without authorization from NEC.

Members of the Disciplinary Committee include Most Rev. Dr. Samuel Asante Antwi (Chairman) Alhaji Abubakar Abdul Rahman, Dr. Kwame Addo Kufuor, Madam Ama Busia, Prof. Mike Oquaye, Hon. Ayikoi Otoo, and Hon. Gifty Kusi.



The meeting decided that Mr. John Boadu, the current National Organizer should also act as NPP General Secretary.



Nana Akomea

(Director of Communications)


Have your say  

More Politics Headlines

What others are reading
Kwaw Kese, D-Black, Patapaa are wack rappers – Tinny
Party security are militias not vigilantes - Abotsi defends Short C’ssion
World's most expensive cities revealed
Corpses, carcasses in drought-hit Kenya