Akufo-Addo swears in final batch of Ministerial nominees

Akufo-Addo swears in final batch of Ministerial nominees
Source: Ghana | Myjoyonline.com | Austin Brako-Powers | Austin.powers@myjoyonline.com
Date: 10-02-2017 Time: 09:02:25:pm
President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo

The final batch of Ministerial nominees appointed to serve in the New Patriotic Party (NPP) government have been sworn in at the Flagstaff House Friday.

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo who administered the Ministerial Oath charged his appointees to distinguish themselves in their service to the state.

He advised them to see the "the opportunity of ministerial appointment as an avenue for service to our people and nation. Service which should be discharged with humility."

According to the President, this service must be accompanied by integrity in the way they exercise their functions as Ministers.

"You are here to advance the public interest [so] you must therefore comply to file your asset declaration," he told them.

One after the other the appointees approached the President to receive their instrument of service amidst smiles.

The swearing in ceremony comes hours after Parliament's plenary session approved the final batch of 11 ministerial nominees in a controversial-free atmoshpere.

Sections of Ghanaians had anticipated a torturous approval process for the Tourism Minister-designate Catherine Afeku since she did not sign up for her national service, but she sailed through unscathed.

Gender Minister Otiko Afisa Djaba had her approval opposed to by National Democratic Congress (NDC) minority members on Parliament's Appointments Committee over her failure to do her national service. She secured her approval after her nomination was subjected to voting. NDC Members of Parliament (MP) abstained from the exercise leaving the NPP majority to seal her approval.

The Ministers sworn in include Tourism, Arts and Culture Minister Catherine Abelema Afeku, Parliamentary Affairs Minister, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, Planning Minister, Professor Gyan Baffour and Youth and Sports Minister, Isaac Asiamah.

The others are Business Development Minister, Awal Ibrahim Mohammed, Special Business Initiative Minister, Mavis Hawa Koomson, Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs Minister, Kofi Dzamesi and Aviation Minister, Cecilia Dapaah.

Inner City and Zongo Development Minister, Boniface Abubakar Saddique, Fisheries and Aquaculture Minister, Elizabeth Afoley Quaye and Information Minister, Mustapha Hamid were also sworn in by the President.

Have your say  

More Politics Headlines

What others are reading
"Reduce it again" - 6 NDC presidential aspirants turn Oliver Twist
National Chief Imam commends and prays for Joy News' Latif Iddrisu
Ecobank appoints MFS Africa as digital payment partner
GRA storms businesses to retrieve outstanding tax liabilities