6 Ghanaians to receive 'Special Awards' at 5th Ghana Oil and Gas Awards

6 Ghanaians to receive 'Special Awards' at 5th Ghana Oil and Gas Awards
Source: Ghana | Myjoyonline.com | JTM
Date: 28-11-2018 Time: 08:11:42:am

Six Ghanaians who have contributed tremendously to the country’s oil and gas sector will be decorated with Special Recognition Awards at the 5th edition of the Ghana Oil and Gas Awards (GOGA) which will take place on December 14.

This year'awards ceremony will confer Special Recognition Awards on the Ghanaians who have contributed tremendously to the country’s oil and gas sector.

The recipients are George Yaw Owusu, formerly of E.O Group, who is credited with leading the oil discovery in commercial quantities in Ghana; Kevin Okyere, Chief Executive Officer of Springfield Energy, the only indigenous and independent E&P company operating the WEST Cape Three Point Block 2 and Emmanuel Egyei Mensah, Chief Executive of Sage Distribution, one of the few companies listed on the stock exchange.

The rest include Alhassan Tampuli, Chief Executive of the National Petroleum Authority,  Elinam Abla Horgli of J.K. Horgle Transport and Company Limited as well as Alfred Fafali Adagbenu, Chief Executive of Seaweld Engineering Limited.

GOGA is organised annually by Xodus Communications Limited organisers of the Ghana Insurance Awards, Ghana Manufacturing Awards, 40 Under 40 Awards and Ghana Auto Awards. The initiative is to showcase the companies’ activities and achievements in the past year and reward excellence in Standards and Stewardship, Health and Safety, Corporate Social Responsibility and more.

A statement issued and signed by Richard Abbey Jnr, Events Director at Xodus Communications Limited, noted that “the Awards represent a cross-section of oil and gas stakeholders ranging from government, upstream, midstream, downstream, regulators, civil society, financial institutions, and insurers, among others.”

Richard Abbey Jnr

Richard Abbey Jnr.

“The Ghanaian economy has become increasingly reliant on energy to sustain growth. Operators in oil and gas fields must be the very best at what they do to win an Award. The Awards will take place on Friday 14th December, 2018 at Kempinski Gold Coast City Hotel.”


Some 40 companies and twelve individuals have been nominated in various categories. They include AI Energy Group, Tel Energy Limited, Fidelity Bank, ECOBANK Ghana Limited, Ghana Oil (GOIL) Company, Vivo Energy (Shell Licensee), Total Petroleum Company Limited, Axiss Shipping Limited, Consolidated Shipping Agencies Limited, Rigworld Training Centre, Eni Ghana Exploration and Production Company Limited, Swire Adonai Services Limited, Modec Production, Tema Multiple Product Terminal, Cirrus Oil, Go Energy Ghana Limited, Blue Oceans Investment, Juwel Energy Limited, Andev Company limited, Hills Oil Marketing Company Limited, Manbah Gas Limited, Transatlantic Services Limited, Adonai Shipping Limited and Jonmoore International Limited.

Others include Rigworld International Services, Danest Engineering Company Limited, Falcon Shipping Limited, Seaweld Engineering Limited, J.K Horgle Transport and Company Limited, J.K Ahiadome Transport & Co. Limited, S.O. Frimpong Transport Limited, Baj Freight Logistics Limited, Petroleum Solutions, Puma Energy, TechnipFMC, Steadfast Rigworld, Meridian Logistics and Engineering Limited, Star Assurance Company Limited, Institute for Energy Security, Kosmos Energy and Sage Distribution Limited.

The individuals include Dr. Mrs Ivy Manly-Spain, Ivy Apea Owusu, Michael Bozumbil, Dr. MacDonald Vasnani, Joseph Kojo Biney, Kofi Amoa-Abban, Abigail Asolange Harley, Baluri Kassim Bukari, J.K Horgle, J.K Ahiadome, James K Kedde, and S.N Dowuona Owoo.

Ghana Oil and Gas Awards remains the largest industry initiative dedicated to championing excellence endorsed by the Ministry of Energy in Partnership with industry stakeholders like the National Petroleum Authority and Ghana Oil and Gas Service Providers Association.

GOGA 2018

Have your say  

More Business Headlines

What others are reading
Valencia win Copa del Rey to end Barcelona's double dream
Full list of winners at 2019 Joy Sports Invitational
Sapholda Ventures crowned champions of Joy Sports Invitational 2019