Kurt Okraku, president of the Ghana Football Association, has taken over the reigns of WAFU Zone B as president.

The announcement of his presidency was made at the Swiss Spirits Alisa Hotel, during the 14 General Assembly of the WAFU Zone B.

Mr. Okraku who has been in charge of Ghana’s football for more than a year now, assumes the new role which was once occupied by president of the Nigerian FA – Djibrilla Hima Hamidou, who has been in office since 2018.

Kurt Okraku confirmed as new Wafu zone B president
Kurt Okraku takes over from Alhaji Djibrilla Hima Hamidou as president of WAFU B

WAFU Zone B is made up of countries geographically placed in the western part of Africa.

Countries belonging to WAFU participate in the WAFU nations cup, a tournament Ghana has successfully won on two occasions; 2013 and 2017.

However, at the latest edition organized in 2019, Ghana lost to Senegal on penalties.