3 Multimedia journalists nominated for West Africa Media Excellence Awards

3 Multimedia journalists nominated for West Africa Media Excellence Awards
Source: Ghana| Myjoyonline.com| Abubakar Ibrahim
Date: 17-10-2017 Time: 12:10:03:pm
Suleiman Braimah, MFWA Exec Director

Three Multimedia Group journalists have been nominated in three categories of the maiden West Africa Media Excellence Awards which recognises journalists work. 

Joy News' Justice Baidoo, Seth Kwame Boateng and Manasseh Azure Awuni were announced by Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA), organisers of the event for the maiden edition, Tuesday.

According to the Executive Director, Suleiman Braimah, the competition received more than 400 entries from 12 countries across West Africa.

A three-member panel of judges reviewed all entries and shortlisted 15 finalists for 6 out of 11 categories.  

The Finalists are as follows:

 A) Oil and Gas Reporting

 Justice Baidoo, Multimedia Broadcasting Limited, Ghana

 Femi Asu, Punch Newspaper, Nigeria

B) ECOWAS and Regional Integration Reporting

 Akinfenwa Ebenezer Olugbenga, The Guardian Newspaper, Nigeria

 Shiella Williams, Business Day Newspaper, Ghana

C) Anti-Corruption Reporting

 Alagbe Jesusegun, Punch Newspaper, Nigeria

 Odimegwu Onwumere, The Nigerian Voice, Nigeria

D) Health Reporting

 Kindo Noufou, Burkina 24, Burkina Faso

 Agbota Ernest, ORTB Radio Parakou, Benin

 Fousseni Saibou, Radio Kanal FM, Togo

 E) Human Rights Reporting

 Bazie Bassana Jonas, Radio Wat FM, Burkina Faso

 Seth Kwame Boateng, Multimedia Broadcasting Limited, Ghana

 Sodjago Ankou Mawuegnegan, Senego Senegal

F) Investigative Reporting

 Arukaino Umukoro, Punch Newspaper, Nigeria

 Ulrich Vital Ahotondji et Romuald Logbo, EducAction, Benin

 Manasseh Azure Awuni, Multimedia Broadcasting Limited, Ghana

Finalists will be hosted at the Awards event on the October 28, and also participate in the West Africa Media Excellence Conference on the October, 27, 

It will feature sessions on topical journalism issues and also provide opportunities for networking with other journalists, editors, and experts from West Africa.

The overall best West African journalist would also be announced at the Awards event.

Winners will receive plaques, certificates and cash prizes. All finalists who are not winners in the various categories will also receive certificates of merit.

All 15 finalists will also be inducted as fellows of the MFWA’s Journalism for Change Network and will be offered regular training opportunities both locally and internationally to enhance their capacity to influence positive change in society through journalism.

The West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards (WAMECA) is supported by Tullow-Ghana, MTN-Ghana, Chamber of Bulk Oil Distributors Ghana, Stanbic Bank and the US Embassy in Ghana. The event is also supported by several media partners across West Africa.

Have your say  

More News Headlines

What others are reading
Church bans 'backpacks' over recent terror threat