6 suspects in Kwabenya jail break incident freed; 4 others face prosecution

6 suspects in Kwabenya jail break incident freed; 4 others face prosecution
Source: Ghana|Myjoyonline.com|NG
Date: 17-05-2018 Time: 01:05:56:pm
The freed are excited about their new found freedom

An Accra Circuit Court has acquitted and discharged six persons arrested in connection with the Kwabenya jailbreak.

The court, presided over by Justice Aboagye Tandoh discharged the suspects after the prosecution failed to establish a prima facie case against them.

George Yeboah, Edward Lartey, George Sarbah, Elvis Owusu, George Asante, and Theophilus Banda could not hide their joy when the judge set them free.

Friends and family members in wild jubilation mobbed the acquitted persons, poured powder on them to signify victory.

But the story is not the same for four others. According to Joy News’ Joseph Ackah Blay, they have been asked to open their defence because a prima facie case has been made against them.

Prince Osei, Nancy Dentaa, Prince Kofi Acheampong and Kofi Seshie are likely to face a jail term if they do not put up a convincing defence.

The police arrested at least ten suspects who were alleged to have played a role in the Kwabenya jailbreak earlier this year.

At least seven suspects who were on remand were freed by a gang who were alleged to have conspired with a bread seller close to the Kwabenya police station.

A police officer on duty, Chief Inspector Emmanuel Ashilevi was shot dead by the gang before they managed to free the suspects on remand.

One after the other, the police managed to arrest some of the suspects and put them before the court.

With six of the suspects having been freed, the remaining four will open their defence on May 23 when the court reconvenes.

Have your say  

More News Headlines

What others are reading
Google regrets cedi-dollar exchange rate glitch - Finance Ministry
Cedi depreciation: Government must admit failure - Minority
Young at Heart launches ‘Lab and Library on Wheels’ project
Interior Minister apologises for police assault on 3 journalists