Akufo-Addo suspends four High Court Justices

Akufo-Addo suspends four High Court Justices
Source: Ghana|Myjoyonline.com|AI
Date: 09-05-2018 Time: 03:05:42:pm

The President, Nana Akufo-Addo has on the advice of the Judicial Council suspended four Justices of the High Court.

The suspension of justices Uuter Paul Dery, Justice Mustapha Logoh, Justice Gilbert Ayisi Addo and Justice Charles Quist is to take immediate effect, a statement signed by the Director of Communications at the presidency Eugene Arhin has said.

The suspension follows the establishment of a prima facie case against the four Justices, by the Committee set up by the Chief Justice to investigate alleged acts of bribery and corruption against certain persons, including the four Justices, as contained in the August 29, 2015 petition of Anas Aremeyaw Anas.

The four Justices have been notified of the President's decision.

At least 34 judges were implicated in the biggest corruption scandal in the country’s judiciary.

In an investigative piece that lasted for about two years, Anas Aremeyaw Anas caught the judges on camera trading justice for goats, sheep, and other rewards.

The jaw-dropping revelations got the country talking for months with many criticizing the judiciary as the most corrupt institution.

The then Chief Justice Georgina Wood constituted an investigation into the matter and dismissed magistrates who admitted to taking the money and other rewards to dispense justice.

Some of the High Court judges were strongly against the publication of the content of the investigation carried out by Anas Aremeyaw Anas.

They were also unhappy with the Chief Justice Committee which established a prima facie against them.

Two of the judges, including Uuter Dery proceeded to court to challenge the decision taken by the committee to suspend them but the court threw out the case.

In October 2015, seven of the judges implicated in the scandal were asked to proceed on leave by the then president John Mahama.

The suspended justices included Justice Francis K. Opoku, Justice Kofi Essel Mensah, Justice John AjetNasam, Justice Ernest Obimpeh, Justice Kwame Ohene Essel, Justice Ivy Heward-Mills Justice Gilbert Ayisi Addo.

It is not clear why Justice Ayisi Addo has been suspended again by president Akufo-Addo.

However, a meeting held on the 25 April 2018the Judicial Council decided that the four justices who have been on administrative leave since  2016 ought to suspend from office pursuant to Article 146 (10) (b) of the Constitution.


Have your say  

More News Headlines

What others are reading
Google regrets cedi-dollar exchange rate glitch - Finance Ministry
Cedi depreciation: Government must admit failure - Minority
Interior Minister apologises for police assault on 3 journalists
Young at Heart launches ‘Lab and Library on Wheels’ project