Djokoto’s Diary: Eʋeto and the Partitions of Eʋeland

Djokoto’s Diary: Eʋeto and the Partitions of Eʋeland
Source: Ghana| Vincent Letsa Kobla Djokoto
Date: 02-04-2019 Time: 01:04:48:pm


Eʋe nationalism is a socio-political philosophy and a sovereign state of mind based on the consciousness of unity, oneness and solidarity; a people in possession of common unique characteristics, ancestry, civil codes, varied genealogies and fraternity. It is neither tribalism nor partisanship but pure nationalism.

We are thereby made to observe and uphold the freedoms that our deceased progenitors have won us, aiding the unwritten laws of the province to operate severely on those who habitually infringe upon our sovereignty. The end-goal of Eʋeto is to develop the Volta Province into a show-piece by erecting the model province of the Republic. This requires the finest expertise of Eʋe citizens, dedicated to a renaissance of the province, backed by the popular will of the people.

The case for Eʋeto is the same today as of ancient times — the steady demand of millions of people inhabiting a distinct geographical area of earth, speaking the same basic mother tongue more or less, practising the same general customs, enjoying a common cultural background and association of interests — to peacefully coexist together under one political administration, so they achieve peace, prosperity and progress unhindered, without fetters, strings or provocative encumbrances.

The renaissance of the Volta Province would be in itself revolutionary once the status quo of a substandard quality of life, which the people of the region furiously reject, yet are subconsciously accustomed to, is refined and a nouveau civilisation is built. The humanistic aspirations of the renaissance are for our collective economic independence. It is my sincerest hope that, in 2020, at the threshold of a new reign of such great promise, that the Volta province is transformed by great public servants, dedicated to a higher purpose, and citizens of goodwill the Republic over travel to the province to participate in manifesting this dream.

Eʋe people are slowly but painful learning that there is very little to choose between the two dominant political parties - the National Democratic Congress and New Patriotic Party. We desire freedom and progress. Our people are fast losing confidence in the deliberations of statesmen when, year in year out, they make representations in Parliament and nothing ever happens. They are beginning to think, I hasten to say wrongly, that the current social order holds no plans of development our province.

Partitions of Eʋeland.

The forceful unilateral partitioning of Eʋeland by the 7th Parliament of the 4th Republic, under the administration of Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, is widely regarded as the greatest injustice against Eʋes. The 2018 Oti Region was carved out of the present Volta Region; Eʋe territory. This has been the 5th partition of Eʋeland.

The 1st partition of Eʋeland (1884-1890) split the Eʋe territory between the Gold Coast and Togoland into two.

The 2nd partition of Eʋeland (1914-1918) occurred when German Togoland was conquered; western Togoland, including Lomé, went to Britain and eastern Togoland went to France.

The 3rd partition of Eʋeland (1919-1920) under Article 119 of the Treaty of Versailles — Germany renounced all her rights over Togoland in favour of the principal Allied and Associated Powers. On 7th May 1919, the Supreme Allied Council requested France and Britain determine between themselves the future regime of Togoland and to recommend its adoption to the League of Nations. Under the terms of the Milner-Simon Declaration of the 10 of July, 1919 Britain and France agreed to determine the frontier between them. In 1919, the situation was reversed and in 1920 Britain handed over two-thirds of former Togoland to France and held one-third of Togoland and within six years (1914-1920) some Eʋes had to adjust themselves to three different colonial systems and learn to speak German-English and French.

The 4th Partition of Eʋeland (1921-1956) the League of Nations in July, 1921 conferred a Mandate system on Britain and France to supervise the government of Togoland. The boundary was the same as for 1919; the mandates were made definitive in 1922 and 1946 they became trusteeships and remained in force until 1956 dividing (a) Eʋeland under the Gold Coast Colony (b) Eʋeland under Britain — (British Mandated Togoland) (c) Eʋeland under France — French Mandated Togoland. The decision which creates a Trust territory under the Permanent Mandates Commission of the United Nations Organisation, failed to take into account the recommendation laid down in the Joint Anglo-French MEMO of May, 1919. The British Trusteeship was terminated in 1957 at Ghana’s attainment of Independence after a Plebiscite on 9th May, 1956 and a subsequent referendum on the creation of the Volta Region of Ghana. The French Trusteeship was terminated in 1960 on Togo’s attainment of Independence.

Ward on page 216 of his “History of Ghana” records the Togoland Plebiscite of May, 1956 and states crucial question posed thus: “Would you rather be part of an Independent-Ghana, or would you rather go on as you are and be governed as a Trust territory?” 93,000 in the BMT wished to part of Ghana while 66,500 in the same BMT wished to remain Trust territory.