2015 is turning out to be a year of laurels for rapper Sarkodie and dancehall artiste, Stonebwoy.

The two musicians kicked off the year with three awards each at the Vodafone Ghana Music Awards (VGMA). Stonebwoy, born Livingstone Etse Satekla, emerged tops at that awards after he was adjudged Artiste of the Year.

Sarkodie, however, has a superior credential at the Ghana Music Awards having been adjudged Artiste of the Year twice – he won it in 2010 and 2012.

In May, Sarkodie and Stonebwoy were announced as nominees for the Best International Act: Africa category of the 2015 Black Entertainment Television (BET) Awards.

Just when their BET Awards nominations sink in, the two have been nominated for the 2015 MTV Africa Music Awards (MAMA).

The nominees for this year’s awards were announced at a star-studded reception at Harem, Johannesburg, South Africa Thursday.

This time around, they will not battle each other for the same award.

Sarkodie, born Michael Owusu Addo, was nominated in the Best Male category while Stonebwoy received a nomination in the Best New Act category.

Sarkodie will face AKA (South Africa), Davido (Nigeria), Diamond (Tanzania), and Wizkid (Nigeria) for the Best Male award while Stonebwoy will seek to beat Anna Joyce (Angola), Cassper Nyovest (South Africa), Duncan (South Africa), and Patoranking (Nigeria) the Best New Act.

Once again, Sarkodie, who jointly won the BET Award in 2012 with Wizkid, is superior at the MAMA. He won ‘Best Hip Hop’ at the 2014 awards.

The two are not the only Ghanaians nominated for this year’s awards. UK-based Ghanaian musician Fuse ODG also secured a nomination in Best Pop & Alternative category.

This year’s awards ceremony, which will be used to honour late South African president, Nelson Mandela, will be  held on Saturday, July 18, 2015 at the Durban International Convention Centre (ICC), KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa.

MAMA 2015 Nominees:

Best Male
AKA (South Africa)
Davido (Nigeria)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Sarkodie (Ghana)
Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best Female
Bucie (South Africa)
Busiswa (South Africa)
Seyi Shay (Nigeria)
Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania)
Yemi Alade (Nigeria)

Best Group
B4 (Angola)
Beatenberg (South Africa)
Black Motion (South Africa)
P-Square (Nigeria)
Sauti Sol (Kenya)

Best New Act Transformed by Absolut
Anna Joyce (Angola)
Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
Duncan (South Africa)
Patoranking (Nigeria)
Stonebwoy (Ghana)

Best Hip Hop
Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
K.O. (South Africa)
Phyno (Nigeria)
Olamide (Nigeria)
Youssoupha (DRC)

Best Collaboration
AKA, Burna Boy, Da LES & JR: “All Eyes On Me” (SA/Nigeria)
Davido featuring Uhuru & DJ Buckz: “The Sound” (Nigeria/SA)
Diamond & Iyanya: “Bum Bum” (Kenya/Nigeria)
Toofan & DJ Arafat: “Apero Remix” (Togo/Ivory Coast)
Stanley Enow & Sarkodie: “Njama Njama Cow Remix” (Cameroon/Ghana)

Song of the Year
Cassper Nyovest: “Doc Shebeleza” (South Africa)
Euphonik featuring Mpumi: “Busa” (South Africa)
DJ Fisherman & NaakMusiQ featuring DJ Tira, Danger & Dream Team: “Call Out” (South Africa)
K.O featuring Kid X: “Caracara” (South Africa)
Lil Kesh Featuring Olamide & Davido: “Shoki Remix” (Nigeria)
Mavins: “Dorobucci” (Nigeria)
Sauti Sol: “Sura Yako” (Kenya)
Toofan: “Gweta” (Togo)
Wizkid: “Show You The Money” (Nigeria)
Yemi Alade: “Johnny” (Nigeria)

Best Live
Big Nuz (South Africa)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Flavour (Nigeria)
Mi Casa (South Africa)
Toofan (Togo)

Video of the Year
“Crazy” – Seyi Shay Featuring Wizkid; Director: Meji Alabi
“Doors” – Prime Circle; Director: Ryan Kruger
“Love You Everyday” – Bebe Cool; Director: Clarence Peters
“Nafukwa” – Riky Rick; Director: Adriaan Louw
“The Sound” – Davido Featuring Uhuru & DJ Buckz; Director: Sesan

Best Pop & Alternative
Fuse ODG (Ghana)
Jeremy Loops (South Africa)
Jimmy Nevis (South Africa)
Nneka (Nigeria)
Prime Circle (South Africa)

Best Francophone
DJ Arafat (Ivory Coast)
Jovi (Cameroon)
Laurette Le Pearle (DRC)
Tour 2 Garde (Ivory Coast)
Toofan (Togo)

Best Lusophone
Ary (Angola)
B4 (Angola)
Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)
NGA (Angola)
Yuri Da Cunha (Angola)

Personality of the Year 
Basketmouth (Nigeria)
Bonang Matheba (South Africa)
OC Ukeje (Nigeria)
Trevor Noah (South Africa)
Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast)