Football quiz: How well do you know your AFCON?

Football quiz: How well do you know your AFCON?
Source: Ghana/Joy Sports/Sakyibea Ofori
Date: 21-06-2019 Time: 04:06:24:pm

1. CAF decided to change the number of participating teams in the AFCON to 24. How many were they originally?





Answer: Sixteen – In 2017, CAF changed the number of participating nations from 16 to 24

2. Who is the title sponsor of the AFCON?





Answer: Total – In 2016, Total signed an 8 year deal with CAF to be made the title sponsor of the AFCON

3. The mascot for the last AFCON was Samba. What is the name of this years’ AFCON?





Answer: Tut – On May 19, 2019, Egypt unveiled Tut, a footballing Pharaoh as the official mascot of the 2019 AFCON

4. Who is the first player to score a hat-trick in the tournament?

1.Hassan El-Shazly


3.Patrick Mboma

4.Benedict McCarthy

Answer: Ad-Diba – He scored four goals in the final of the first edition of the championship

5. Egypt is the host of this years’ AFCON. What happened the last time they hosted the Championship?

1.Egypt withdrew from the competition

2.The Pharaohs exited at the group stages

3.The Egyptians won the trophy 

4.They lost the final

Answer: The Egyptians won the trophy. 

6. Hossam Hassan is the oldest goal scorer of the tournament, but who is the youngest?

1.Shiva N’Zigou (Shiva was 16 years and 93 days old when he scored against South Africa in a 3-1 defeat)

2.Mohamed Salah

3.Abedi Pele

4.Roger Milla

Answer: Shiva N’Zigou – The Gabonese was 16 years and 93 days old when he scored against South Africa in a 3-1 defeat in 1977. 

7.  During the first final of the competition, an Egyptian player scored four goals to help his team lift the Cup. What is the name of the player?

1.Amr Zaki

2.Emad Moteab


4.Ahmed Hassan

Answer: Ad-Diba – He scored four goals, the only player to score that number in a final

8. Cote D’Ivoire and Ghana played penalties to decide the winner of AFCON 2015. Who scored the winning goal for the Elephants to lift their second trophy?

1.Wilfried Bony


3.Salomon Kalou

4.Boubacar Barry 

Answer: Boubacar Barry – The goalkeeper, scored the winning penalty for his side to lift their second AFCON trophy

9. Who is the highest top scorer in a single tournament?

1.Samuel Eto’o

2.Didier Drogba

3.Ndaye Mulamba

4.Laurent Pokou

Answer: Ndaye Mulamba of Zaire, scored 9 goals, the highest number of goals till date in a single tournament)

10. Who is the first African coach to win the tournament?

1.Charles Gyamfi

2.Mourad Fahmy 

3.Ydnekatchew Tessema

4.Clive Barker

Answer: Mourad Fahmy – The Egyptian won the competition with his home country, Egypt in 1957, the first edition of the AFCON

11. Who is the first coach to win the trophy back to back?

1.Charles Gyamfi

2.Hassan Shehata

3.Yeo Martial

4.Clive Barker

Answer: Charles Gyamfi – He won the trophy back to back with Ghana in 1963 and 1965


Follow all the tournament games with #JoyAFCON. There’s live radio commentary on Joy 99.7FM, post-match programs on Joy FM, JoyNews TV (available via MultiTV Digibox and on DStv channel 421), Joy Prime (on DStv 281), analysis shows, and fanzones. Follow complete social media coverage on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram with @JoySportsGH.