The distance students of the University of Education, Winneba have inaugurated a nine member interim national executives to represent the interest of students when dealing with management of the university.

The interim committee has become necessary due the seeming absence of a conflict resolution mechanism between the distance students and management of the university.

The distance students believe their interest will be served best when the committee has a common voice in addressing their grievances.

The Dean, faculty of educational studies, Professor George Kankam who read the key note address on behalf of the Vice Chancellor, assured the students of management’s commitment of meeting their needs as students.

“The university provides a vast array of services and functions to promote an optical and educational environment. Your success within the community as a (DE Student) may rest in your knowledge of the resources available to you. So, keep exploring these resources during your face to face section at the various study centres” he added.

He cautioned the students of the university against occultism and ethnic groupings and other vices, stressing the management will not compromise on maintaining discipline.

Professor Kwame Asante, Director of Institute for Educational Development and Extension and Dean, student Affairs of the university and Professor Cosmas W.K Mereku both expressed gratefulness for the conduct of the students thus far.

He advised the students to be morally and academically sound and also cautioned the students against turning the committee into a pressure group.

A speech read by the first President of the Distance Education students Association, Abdulsalam Alhassan said, the association can only achieve its mandate when executives are energized and supported by students.

“Provide constructive criticisms and eschew all forms of cynical comments or actions that may mar the image of the association or undermine it, we represent your interest” he added.  

The Committee is led by Abdul Salam Alhassan who is the president, Sabammar Umar and Godfred Asare are PRO and Treasurer respectively.