The University of Cape Coast has signed a Memorandum of Understanding with Sixteen out of the forty-six colleges of education in the country to mentor and supervise them.

The move follows the introduction of the new Bachelor of Education (B.Ed) Programs that are to be run by the colleges in October 2019.

The new B. Ed. programme has three key specializations: B.Ed. Upper Primary Teacher Education, the B. Ed Early Grade Teacher Education and the B. Ed Junior High School Teacher Education programmes.

The overarching goal of the programme, according to the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cape Coast, is to improve learning outcomes and ensure children are motivated and better prepared for life.

Joseph Ghartey-Ampiah believes the affiliation holds a better key in the affairs of the nation’s education and all efforts should be made to make it a success.

“The university, together with the Institute of Education at the University of Cape Coast, will do all we can you and we will give you more autonomy when we see that you are doing the right thing,” he assured.

The immediate past President of the National Conference of Principals of Colleges of Education (PRINCOF) and Principal of the OLA College of Education, Rev. Sr. Elizabeth Amoako Arhin, on behalf of the 16 colleges of education described the collaboration as significant.

To her, the unimpeachable academic excellence of the University of Cape Coast makes the affiliation a significant one for the 16 Colleges. “we feel privileged and proud to be associated with the ‘University of Competitive Choice,” he intimated.

The colleges that are now under the University of Cape Coast are the Abetifi College of Education, the OLA College of Education in Cape Coast, Holy Child College of Education, Takoradi and Foso College of Education, Assin Fosu. The rest are Berekum, St. Monica’s, St. Theresa’s, St Francis, Atebubu and the SDA College of Education. Offinso, Kibi Presbyterian, St. Ambrose and Jasikan Colleges of Education.