President Akufo-Addo has sacked two District Chief Executives and nominated three persons for confirmation by their respective local assemblies.

The newly nominated Chief Executives include, Abdul Mumim Issah for the Sekondi- Takoradi Metropolitan Assembly in the Western Region, Barima Awuah Sarpong Asiedu, Akwapim North Municipal Assembly in the Eastern Region and Clement Opoku Gyamfi, Amansie South District of the Ashanti Region.

If confirmed, they would replace Anthony K. K. Sam, Sekondi-Takoradi MCE, Mr Dennis Edward Aboagye, MCE, Akwapim North, and Mr William Asante Bediako, DCE, Amansie South, respectively.

Akufo-Addo sacks Amansie South, Akuapem North DCEs; nominates replacements

Although it is unclear why Mr Dennis Edward Aboagye and Mr William Asante Bediako are being replaced by the President, Mr. Anthony K. K. Sam passed on in June 2020 after contracting Covid-19.

In a statement sighted by JoyNews and signed by the Minister for Local Government and Rural Development, Hajia Alima Mahama, the nomination is said to be in accordance with article 243 (1) of the 1992 Constitution and section 20(1) of the Local Governance Act, Act 936.

“…the Hon. Regional Ministers for the Western, Eastern and Ashanti Region are requested to liaise with the Regional Electoral Commission to conduct the confirmation process of the nominated Chief Executives,” the statement concluded.