The Convention Peoples Party has constituted a seven-man committee to vet all six presidential aspirants vying for the party’s flagbearership position.

The committee will also scrutinize 28 other candidates seeking various executive positions of the party.

Members of the vetting committee include retired judges Justice Jones Mensah, Justice Opare Addo, Reilly Opoku, Madam Adisa Munkaila, Mrs Jane Chinebuah, R.O Frimpong Manso and Dr. Charles Vandyke, all members of the party.

The decision to constitute the committee was taken on Thursday night at a central committee meeting of the party.

The CPP closed its nominations for individuals contesting various party positions on Monday and is scheduled to go to congress on November 24 to elect a flagbearer.

The General Secretary of the CPP Professor Nii Noi Dowuona told Joy News that the vetting committee will have to agree on set criteria for scrutinizing the various aspirants.

He said all presidential aspirants will have to submit themselves to the committee and must be cleared before they will be allowed to contest at the party’s congress in November.

The CPP, according to the General Secretary, is in the process of selecting delegates for the November congress.