The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has today announced the 20 teams that will be competing in the Hockey competition at the 2014 Youth Olympic Games in Nanjing next month.

There will be ten teams in both the men’s and women’s competitions, with a total of 180 promising young hockey players representing 16 countries. Each competition has two representatives from Europe, Asia, Africa, Pan America and Oceania in a truly global tournament.

The Youth Olympic Games sees young athletes between the ages of 15 and 18 compete across a range of Olympic sports – providing athletes with valuable experience of multi-sports events and giving fans the chance to get a glimpse of the stars of the future. The 2014 Youth Olympic Games will see over 3,000 athletes competing in 222 events across 28 sports, with hockey playing a key role.

 The men’s competition features Spain and Germany representing Europe, Bangladesh and Pakistan from Asia, Canada and Mexico from Pan America, Australia and New Zealand from Oceania, and South Africa and Zambia representing Africa. In the women’s competition hosts China are joined by Japan, South Africa, Zambia, the Netherlands, Germany, Fiji, New Zealand, Argentina and Uruguay.

 Hockey at Nanjing 2014 will be showcasing teams from emerging hockey nations, with Mexico and Bangladesh in the mens’ competition, Fiji in the womens’ competition, and Zambia fielding teams in both. This is part of the FIH’s strategy to keep growing the influence of hockey around the world. In keeping with this FIH are in the process of developing a small-sided complimentary game with their official innovation partner, Loughborough University. The new dynamic format is being designed to appeal to youth and generate new hockey playing nations. As a result FIH hopes to see even more emerging nations competing and succeeding in international tournaments in the future.

Kelly Fairweather, CEO of FIH, said, “We are delighted to announce the teams that will be competing in Nanjing, and I am sure that we are set for an exciting and entertaining competition. I have no doubt the tournament will uncover stars who will shine at the Rio 2016 Olympics and other major international hockey events for years to come.”

Mens’ competition
Pool A                   Pool B
South Africa          Zambia
Bangladesh           Pakistan
Spain                     Germany
Australia                New Zealand
Canada                  Mexico

Womens’ competition
Pool A                   Pool B
South Africa          Zambia
Japan                     China
Netherlands           Germany
Fiji                          New Zealand
Argentina               Uruguay