The inauguration of the 8th Parliament of the 4th Republic last Thursday began with aggression and anxiety right from the onset.

The night was full of drama with both the NDC and NPP caucuses at each other’s throat on the choice of Speaker of Parliament.

There was a standoff on the eligibility of Assin North MP-elect in voting in the election process, as he has been injuncted by the Cape Coast High Court from holding himself out to be an MP. Eventually, he was allowed to vote.

Chief Supt. Freeman Tettey, Commander of the Parliamentary Protection Unit of the Ghana Police Service begging some of the rampaging legislators

The voting process in itself was a spectacle.

The contest was between Former MP for Nadowli Kaleo, Alban Sumana Bagbin of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) and his predecessor Prof. Aaron Mike Ocquaye of the New Patriotic Party.

Asawasi MP Alhaj Muntaka Mubarak ( left) in a heated exchange of words with Hon. Peter Amewu a new mp

It culminated into the military and the police storming into the Chamber to restore calm for the first time in the history of Ghana’s democracy.

Soldiers were brought in to maintain law and other

However, the highlight of the day was when Tema West MP, Carlos Ahenkorah snatched ballot papers in the full glare of huge security and the media.

Alhaj Muntaka Mubarak and some members of his side try to take the snatched ballot from the Tema West MP Carlos Ahenkorah
The ballot paper snatcher being pursued by some NDC members

However, Muntaka Mubarak and other members of the minority side chased the lawmaker turned ballot snatcher to apprehend him.

Hon. K.T Hammond , NPP MP for Asokwa calms down Alhaj Muntaka Mubarak

Polling 138 votes, Alban Bagbin won against his predecessor Prof. Aaron Mike Ocquaye who had 136 votes. One legislator failed to vote.

NDC MP for Bulsa North Dr Clement Apaak and his colleagues MPs jubilating
Some NDC MPs holding one of the misplaced items
Dr Stephen Amoah (middle) being calmed down by the police personnel on duty

At the end of the long wait throughout the night, Alban Bagbin won the closely contested ballot. He makes history as the first Speaker of Parliament who is not selected by the governing party.