Florentino Perez has been officially re-elected as president of Real Madrid until 2025 for a fifth consecutive term and sixth overall.

The 74-year-old ran unopposed in the election which was called by the club last week and was confirmed as the winner on Tuesday.

Perez has been serving as president of Real Madrid for 12 years since taking over from Ramon Calderon in June 2009.

He also held the post prior to Calderon’s reign, between 2000 and 2006.

Under Perez, Madrid clinched the Decima – their 10th Champions League crown – in 2014, before lifting the trophy for three consecutive seasons from 2016.

A statement on the club’s website read: “This Electoral Board, having seen only one candidacy presented and by virtue of article 40, section E, point 2 of the club’s current bylaws, proclaims Don Florentino Perez Rodriguez as president of Real Madrid.”