Ghana prepares for a momentous evening, Thursday, as African football readies to confer the prestigious Footballer of the Year award for 2012.

For an unprecedented fourth time after 2006, 2009 and 2011, the Ghanaian capital, Accra will host the Glo-CAF Awards, an event that rewards Africa’s football personalities for the year under review.

From a tall list of 34 nominees for the flagship award, the shortlist has been whittled down to three pretenders for the title, including reigning winner, Yaya Toure.

The Ivorian faces competition from fellow national Didier Drogba as well as Cameroonian Alexander Song.

Apart from the African Footballer of the Year, there are several other categories for the awards ceremony including the honouring of some legends on the continent.

African Player of the Year 2012 – Based in Africa:
Stoppila Sunzu (Zambia, TP Mazembe), Rainford Kalaba (Zambia, TP Mazembe), Mohamed Aboutreika (Egypt, Al Ahly)

National team of the year nominees:
Zambia, Cape Verde, Ivory Coast

Women’s national team of the year:
Equatorial Guinea, Ghana Under-17, Nigeria Under-20

Club of the year nominees:
Al Ahly (Egypt), Esperance (Tunisia), AC Leopards ( Congo), Djoliba (Mali)

Coach of the year nominees:
Herve Renard (Zambia), Hosam El Badry (Al Ahly), Joseph Morius OMOG (AC Léopards, Cameroon)

Most promising talent:
Mohamed Salah (Egypt and Basel), Moussa Konate (Senegal and FC Krasnodar), Victor Wanyama (Kenya and Celtic)

Women’s footballer of the year:
Chinwendu Ihezuo (Nigeria), Genoveva Anoman (Equatorial Guinea), Portia Modise (South Africa)

Referee of the Year:
Djamal Alhaimoudi, Diatta Badara, Jedidi Slim

Legend Award:
Mahmoud El-Gohari, Rigobert Song