Sixty aspirants have picked nomination forms for the impending parliamentary primaries of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in Brong Ahafo Region to seek the nod to contest parliamentary seats in the 24 constituencies of the region in the 2012 General Election.

Mr. Alfred Ofori Annye, Regional Secretary of the party, in an interview with the Ghana News Agency (GNA) on Wednesday said that the aspirants included five women.

According to him, Mr. Paul Okoh, Member of Parliament (MP) for Asutifi and Mr. Ernest Akubour Debrah, MP for Tano North would not seek re-election.

Mr. Annye said six incumbent MPs; namely Kwasi Ameyaw Cheremeh, MP for Sunyani East, Ignatius Baffour-Awuah, MP for Sunyani West, and Andrews Adjei-Yeboah, MP for Tano South, Mr. Kwaku Agyenim Boateng, MP for Berekum, Mr. Yaw Maama Afful, MP for Jaman South and Mr. Kwame Ampofo Twumasi, MP for Nkoranza South, would contest unopposed.

Mr. Prince Yaw Donyina, former Techiman Municipal Chief Executive and Mr. Awudulai Razak, former Kintampo District Chief Executive, would also contest for the Techiman South and Kintampo North constituency seats.

In the Tano North constituency, Ms. Freda Prempeh will contest in the primaries with Dr. Osei Ackom, Mr. Raphael Opoku Agyapong, Mr. Emmanuel Opoku Marfo and Mr. Stephen Ofori Appiah.

Joseph Daha Benhadzi, Nana Antwi Eric and Mr. Opoku Peprah, former Asutifi District Chief Executive, will contest in the primaries in Asutifi North constituency.

Mr. Yaw Owusu Brempong and Mr. Boakye Boateng Yiadom are seeking the nod to contest the Asutifi South constituency seat whilst Mr. Yaw Osei Boahen, Mr. Evans Bobie Opoku and Mr. Evans Kwaku Boateng are to contest with Mr. Robert Sarfo Mensah, incumbent MP for Asunafo North constituency in the primaries.

In the Asunafo South constituency, Mr. Kennedy Brobbey is challenging Mr. George Yaw Boakye, the incumbent MP, whilst in Dormaa West constituency; Dr. Yaw Yeboah will contest with Mr. Kwaku Agyemang Manu MP for the seat.

Mr. Yaw Ntow Ababio, MP for Dormaa East constituency is contesting with Mr. William Sabi, Mr. Solomon Oppong Twumasi and Mr. Nicholas Asamoah in the primaries.

Mr. Siaka Stevens and Dr. Oti Adinkrah are seeking primaries to contest for the Jaman North constituency seat.

Seven aspirants including Mr. Joe Danquah, former MP for Tain and Hajia Farizana Bintu former Tain DCE are also seeking the mandate to contest the Tain constituency seat.

The others are Mr. Joseph Ofori Amanfo, Saddick Abubakar, Dr. Mrs. M. Acheampong, Andrews Obour and Robert Moore Addai.

Professor Yaw George Gyan Baffour, MP for Wenchi is contesting the primaries with Mr. Adom Busia, a journalist, whilst Professor Christopher Ameyaw-Ekumfi, MP for Techiman North is also contesting with Mr. Kofi Iddrisah.

In the Kintampo South constituency primaries, Mr. Yaw Adjei-Duffour, former District Chief Executive (DCE) for the area will contest with Mr. Isaac Boahen.

Major Derek Oduro, MP for Nkoranza South is contesting in the primaries with Mr. Kwabena Appiah Awuah, former DCE and Mrs. Gifty A. Akorsah.

In Atebubu/Amantin constituency, Nana Abraham Kwakwo Kwakye, former Deputy Regional Minister, Mr. Cassius Osei-Poku, former Atebubu/Amantin DCE, Mr. Osei Kwaku Tuah and Mr. Charles Yaw Owusu are seeking election to contest the parliamentary seat.

Mr. Abraham Mbanye, Mr. Benjamin Kwabena Ochour and Mohammed Abdella Bilnya are also seeking elections in the primaries to contest the Sene constituency seat.

The Pru constituency parliamentary primaries are being contested by Alhaji Iddrisu Gariba, former Pru DCE, Mr. Joseph Kwabena Manu, Mr. Stephen Jawula and Mr. Winston Binabiba.

Mr. Annye said 19 aspirants picked nomination forms on the day it opened, which showed the interest members had in the party and appealed for a fair playing field for all the aspirants in the primaries.

The NPP parliamentary primaries are scheduled for April 30, 2011.

Source: GNA.