Diageo, the world’s leading premium drinks business, Monday issued the final call for the eighth Diageo Africa Business Reporting Awards. These annual awards were launched in 2004, as a practical response to encourage more prolific reporting of economic opportunity in Africa and to celebrate excellence in business journalism.

The Awards represent a real and prestigious opportunity for business journalists writing about the Continent to distinguish themselves and receive credit for their work. Philip Isakpa, editor of Business Day Nigeria, expressed his pleasure after winning the ‘Media of the Year’ category last year: “I feel so fulfilled, because this shows that there is recognition for what we are doing”.

Shortlisted candidates from each category will be flown to London for the Gala Ceremony in June and winners are awarded £500 and a specially commissioned sculpture. The best journalistic talent and influential media outlets from Africa, as well as international sources, are strongly encouraged to submit entries into the Awards and have their work seen by the high-profile judging panel.

The Awards in 2010 attracted over 700 entries from more than 25 countries. The 2011 Awards are free to enter and are open for entries until 25 March, to give as many people a chance to apply as possible.

Submissions are welcomed from the following categories:
Best ICT Feature
Best Finance Feature
Best Infrastructure Feature
Best Agribusiness/Environment Feature
Best Tourism Feature
Best use of New Media in a Story
Best Business News Story
Best Business Feature Story
Best Newcomer
Media of the Year
Journalist of the Year

Finalists will be announced on 2 May 2011. The Awards Ceremony will be held at the Landmark Hotel in Central London on 30 June 2011. There are no entry fees. For details and guidelines, please visit

Source: Africapractice