Chief Executive of Korle-Bu Teaching Hospital, Dr. Felix Anyah has been adjudged the overall best CEO (Private and Public Sector) of the Year, 2017.

His compatriot at McDan shipping picked up the Entrepreneur of the year award with several others picking up different awards. 

The two were acknowledged at the 8th edition of the Ghana Entrepreneur and Corporate Executive Awards (GECEA) organized here in Accra.

According to a citation accompanying Dr Anyah's award, within two (2) months of his appointment, there was an emergency acquisition of two high and digital PBX equipment which is able to receive 30 calls concurrently; an integrated services digital network (ISDN) awaiting the installation of an end to end software that will ensure efficient bed management, improve security, minimize leakages and ensure greater efficiency in running the hospital; a next generation firewall, a set antivirus application software, CCTV and access controls and Microsoft office 365 application with two years renewable contract, among others.

The Korle-Bu boss, Dr. Anyah told Joy Business, “I think it’s an entrepreneurial private sector-led approach to issues in the public sector. I think that’s what I believe has unravelled the solutions in Korle-Bu which is the public sector facility.”

Meanwhile, Group Chairman of McDan Group of companies, Dr. Daniel Mckorley who picked up the Overall Best Entrepreneur of the year, 2017 was acknowledged for his job-creating abilities.

Dr. Daniel Mckorley

According to a citation written on his behalf, he deserved recognition due to the employment opportunities he created for a significant number of persons directly and indirectly through the McDan Group of companies. The citation says he was also committed to education and youth development through his mentorship, sponsorship and sporting activities and events which brought improvement and hope to the youth.

The McDan boss is also said to have extensively embarked on several CSR’s that have touched the lives of people and community.

The award scheme also presented honorary awards to some Ministers for their commitment and hard work.

The Minister of Education,  Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh, was recognized as the Overall Best Minister of the Year while the Minister of Land and Natural Resources, Hon. John Peter Amewu was acknowledged as Distinguished Public Officer of the Year.

In all, about 37 entrepreneurs and corporate executives were awarded for their contributions towards the improvement of the public and private sectors of the economy.

Corporate Executives

The Immediate Past Managing Director of Graphic Communications Group Ltd., Ken Ashigbey, as Best Media Communications CEO of the Year.

Managing Director of Royal Crown Packaging Ltd., Emelia Adjei Ohene-Kena, is Best Packaging Industry CEO of the Year.

Executive Director of National Service Scheme, Mustapha Ussif, is Best Young CEO of the Year (Public Sector).

Chief Executive of Ghana Investment Promotion Centre (GIPC), Yofi Grant, is Best Business and Investment Services CEO of the Year (Public Sector)

CEO of UNICREDIT Ghana Ltd., Samuel Sakyi-Hyde is Best Non-Bank Financial Services CEO of the Year.

CEO of Activa International Insurance Ltd., Solomon Lartey, is Best Insurance Services CEO of the Year.

MD of Barclays Bank of Ghana, Patience Akyianu, is the Best Woman CEO of the Year.

MD of Nyonkopa Cocoa Buying Company Ltd., Dr. Joshy Varkey, is the Best Agri-Business Industry CEO of the year.

CEO of United Bank for Africa (UBA), Abiola Bawuah, is the Best Banking and Finance Services CEO of the Year.

Public Sector Awards

Registrar General of the Registrar General’s Department, Jemima Oware, is the Best Woman CEO of the Year.

CEO of Ghana Community Network Services Ltd. (GCNET), Dr. Nortey Omaboe, is Best ICT AND Trade Facilitation Services CEO of the Year.

CEO of Korle-Bu Teaching Hospital, Dr. Felix Anyah, is Best Healthcare Services CEO of the Year.

CEO of Microfinance and Small Loans Centre (MASLOC), Stephen Amoah, is Best Microfinance and Small Loans Services CEO of the Year.

Director General of Ghana Ports and Harbours Authority (GPHA), Paul Asare Ansah, is Best Maritime and Ports Industry CEO of the Year.

Director General of National Communications Authority (NCA), Joe Anokye, is Best Telecommunications Industry CEO of the Year.

Entrepreneur Awards

CEO of Commerz Saving and Loans, Dr. Edem Bart Williams, is Best Non-Bank Financial Services Entrepreneur of the Year.

Founder and CEO of Liranz IT Consulting Ltd., Nicholas Bortey, is Best Technology and Innovation Entrepreneur of the Year.

CEO of Classic Amodel Ghana Ltd. (CAGL), Isaac Amoako-Mensah, is Best Young Entrepreneur of the Year.

CEO of Anowah Afrique Ltd., Catherine Nana Esi Anowah Coffie, is Best Garments and Apparel Entrepreneur of the Year.

MD of Wilkins Engineering Ltd., Omane Frimpong, is Best Electrical and Renewable Energy Entrepreneur of the Year.

CEO of New Crystal Health Services Ltd., Dr. Wisdom Amegbletor, is Best Healthcare Entrepreneur of the Year.

MD of Frimps Oil Co. Ltd., Rev. Dr. Kwaku Frimpong, is Best Oil and Gas Entrepreneur of the Year.

CEO of Stopover JRA Enterprise, Jane Reason Ahadzie, is Best Personal Care and Cosmetics Entrepreneur of the Year.

CEO of Comsys Ghana Ltd./Telesol Ltd., Jonathan Lamptey, is BEST IT AND Telecommunications Entrepreneur of the Year.

CEO of Rehoboth Properties Ltd., Gideon Akrofi Ayiku, is BesT Real Estate and Property Development Entrepreneur of the Year.

Chairman and MD of Azar Group, Ghazi Azar, is Best Manufacturing Entrepreneur of the Year.

MD of Davud Walter Ltd., David Osei Amankwah, is Best Civil Engineering and Building Construction Entrepreneur of the Year.

Chairman of Premium Group, Harold Quarshie Awuah-Darko, is Best Insurance and Pension Entrepreneur of the Year.

The Entrepreneur Hall of Fame Award was given to President of Group Ndoum, Dr. Papa Kwesi Ndoum.

CEO of Zylofon Media/Menzgold, Nana Appiah Mensah, is Best Business Executive of the Year.

The Best Woman Entrepreneur of the Year is Senior Vice President of Groupe Ndoum, Yvonne Ndoum.

Executive Group Chairman of Vanguard Group, Daniel Awuah-Darko, is Best Group Chairman of the Year.

The 8th Ghana Entrepreneur and Corporate Executive Awards, 2018 was under the theme, “Enhancing Business Growth through Corporate Entrepreneurship Development.”

It was organized by the Entrepreneurs Foundation of Ghana (EFG) in collaboration with the Ministry of Trade and Industry and the Ministry of Business Development.

Some other sponsors were OmniBank and Group Ideal.