The 275-member Parliament is almost empty as Minority MPs have left to their various constituencies to campaign for re-election.

Joy News' Elton John Brobbey reports that Parliament began sitting with two Minority MPs. The number rose to nine before midday.

There were about 40 out of 147 MPs from the governing party's, National Democratic Congress (NDC) of the floor.

The Minority leader Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu last Friday sought permission from the Speaker for his side to go ahead with crucial primaries which will determine their stay in the chamber come 2017.

The Parliamentary primaries of the New Patriotic Party come off on Saturday June 13. The party has exempted some 30 constituencies from taking part in the primaries because it has outstanding issues. There are 14 NPP MPs going unopposed, five, including Papa Owusu Ankomah will retire after 2016. The rest need to fight off other candidates in Saturday's primaries who are threatening to take over their seats.

Overall there are 123 Minority Members of Parliament.

Consequently, Parliament has been forced to step down various issues under consideration because of the level of absenteeism.

Work on Bills such as the Nuclear Regulatory Authority bill and Minerals and Mining Amendment Bill have been postponed.

The House was deliberating on the University of Environment and Sustainable Development Bill 2014 at the time of this report.