Eight out of the 13 disqualified presidential candidates have resubmitted their nomination forms as at 5 p.m. Tuesday, the Electoral Commission (EC) has said.

Deputy EC Communication Director, Yussif Ayuba explained that per the ruling of Ghana’s apex court candidates who could not present their forms stand automatically disqualified.

He nonetheless told Raymond Acquah, host of Joy FM’s Top Story programme that this precludes individuals who are on the premises of the Commission before 5 p.m., the deadline.

The parties who successfully submitted their forms include the Progressive People’s Party (PPP), National Democratic Party (NDP), All People’s Congress (APC), Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP), and United Progressive Party (UPP).

The rest are the United Front Party (UFP), People’s National Convention (PNC), and an independent candidate, Asiedu Walker.

The Supreme Court (SC) on Monday ordered the EC to afford the 13 disqualified presidential candidates an opportunity to make corrections on their nomination forms, errors behind their disqualification.

The ruling followed an application filed in the apex court by the EC after it was displeased by an Accra High Court ruling describing its disqualification of PPP's Presidential Candidate, Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom as unfair.

The lower court said the economist's right to natural justice that a man cannot be condemned until granted an audience was flouted, hence its decision.

A statement signed by the Commission explained its decision to head to the SC was in the interest of public policy and the nation as a whole. 

The highest court upheld the ruling of the lower court, directing the EC to add two days which started on Monday for the candidates to effect changes on their forms.

The candidates had accused the Commission of deliberately refusing to point their errors for the correction to be made on the forms.

But Mr Ayuba said from Monday when the nomination process was reopened, candidates who come in to meet the Commission had their errors pointed to them.

He hoped the forms resubmitted by the candidates would meet the requirement of the C.I.94, the law governing the 2016 elections.

According to him, the forms would be given to the EC boss, Charlotte Osei who is the Returning Officer for determination to be made on them.

Mr Ayuba said by close of business Wednesday, the Commission would make public those candidates who went through the process successfully for the presidential balloting on Thursday.