Ghana Football Association (GFA) Normalisation Committee (NC)’s proposal to have an 18-club Ghana Premier League have been accepted by Congress.

The proposal was raised during Friday’s Elective Congress taking place at the College of Physicians and Surgeons in Accra.

Follow – Live Updates: GFA elections finale as 120 delegates elect new President

After deliberations on the proposal, newly elected Executive Council Randy Abbey moved for the motion to be accepted. 

GFA Elective Congress

Randy Abbey

The NC allowed delegates to vote with 64 members being in favour of the increment. 

This means the Ghana Premier League will have 18 teams for the first time in over two decades but per the agreement, five teams instead of 3 will be relegated. 

The new teams included are King Faisal and Accra Great Olympics. The two are both deemed to have been victims of some acts of injustice and those acts led to their relegation.

Also, Congress agreed that the 2017/18 season be cancelled. The season was halted in the aftermath of the Anas Aremeyaw Anas’ Number 12 documentary. 

Here are 18 teams to participate in the new Ghana Premier League from 2019/20 season: Asante Kotoko, Hearts of Oak, AhsantiGold, Medeama, WA All-Stars, Elmina Sharks, WAFA and Berekum Chelsea.

The others are Inter Allies, Dreams FC, Aduana Stars, Bechem United, Liberty Professionals, Karela United, Eleven Wonders, Ebusua Dwarfs, King Faisal, and Great Olympics.