Member of Parliament for Lawra constituency, Anthony Abayifaa Karbo has called the bluff of those labeling him as one-term Member of Parliament saying that his record in government and the legislature will make him retain the seat in the upcoming 2020 polls.

According to him, the people of Lawra are discerning and will compare his record with his opponents who had similar opportunities and vote to retain him as a legislator.

Anthony Karbo polled 403 votes as against 32 by his opponent, Joseph Bilson Dontah JoyNews Upper West Regions correspondent, Rafiq Salam who covered the election reports that three incumbent members of parliament were shockingly defeated.

It was clear, according to many, that Deputy Roads Minister will cruise to another victory considering the enormous development that he has overseen in the area since he became MP.

What was unclear was the margin of victory. But, he had an overwhelming endorsement from the delegates. He polled 403 out of the 435 votes cast against contender Bilson Dontaa who could only manage half of the votes he had five years ago.

With the primaries out of the way, Mr Karbo says the focus now is to retain the seat in the 2020 polls.

Many are of the belief that he won the last election by default and had been labeled as one time MP but he would have none of that adding that he will be judged by his record in government against his opponents who had similar opportunities.

Three incumbent members of parliament, Ridwan Abass Daud, Patrick Adama Alhassan and Godfrey Bayong Tango lost their right to represent the party in the 2020 polls when they were shockingly defeated by Amidu Chinnia Issahaku, Salifu Naliwie and Ing Yakubu Salifu.

Expressing content with the conduct of Saturday’s event, Upper West Regional Minister, Dr Hafiz Bin Salih hinted that the party will win two more seats in the 2020 polls.

Third National Vice Chairman of the NPP, Michael Omari Wadie congratulated the victors has some consolatory words for the anguish.