2nd Ministerial list out: Akufo-Addo creates new ministries, re-aligns old

2nd Ministerial list out: Akufo-Addo creates new ministries, re-aligns old
Source: Ghana | Myjoyonline.com
Date: 11-01-2017 Time: 02:01:02:pm

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo  has released another list of ministers expected to serve in his government.

The list has 12 minister-designates bringing the total number of appointees to 25 with a promise of a third batch expected to be released by Friday.

A notable feature is the creation of three new ministries - The Ministry of Regional Re-organisation which would be headed by Okere MP, Dan Kwaku Botwe.

Akufo-Addo at a press conference Wednesday, explained the ministry will supervise the creation of new regions as promised by the NPP. Akufo-Addo has promised to split the Volta region to now have a new area - the Oti region and another from the Western region expected to be known as the Western-north region.

Nana Akufo-Addo said for this position, he needed "a heavy hitter, a political weight" in the person of the former NPP General Secretary who lifted the party out of opposition and into government in 2001.

President Akufo-Addo has also created the Ministry of Railways Development to be headed by Joe Nana Ghartey, a former Second Deputy Speaker and Attorney-General under erstwhile President John Kufuor.

There is also a new portofolio- Monitoring and Evaluation- which would be headed by Dr. Akoto Osei as Minister.

The President has also decoupled the Ministry of Water Resources, Works and Housing, re-aligning it to a new ministry called Ministry of Sanitation and Water Resources.

The re-aligned ministry would be headed by Joseph Kofi Adda, MP for Navrongo Central. He was a former minister under the previous New Patriotic Party (NPP) government.

Below is the list of second batch of Ministers-designate:

(a) Minister for Monitoring and Evaluation - Dr Anthony Osei Akoto

(b) Minister for Regional Re-organisation - Hon. Dan Kwaku Botwe

(c) Minister for Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation - Prof Kwabena Frimpong Boateng

(d) Minister for Lands and Natural Resources - John Peter Amewu

(e) Minister for Gender, Children and Social Protection - Otiko Afisa Djaba

(f) Minister for Employment and Labour Relations - Hon Ignatius Baffuor Awuah

(g) Minister for Transport - Kwaku Ofori Asiamah

(h) Minister for Railways Development - Hon. Joe Nana Ghartey

(i) Minister for Roads and Highways – Kwesi Amoako-Atta

(j) Minister for Communication - Hon. Ursula Owusu

(k) Minister for Sanitation and Water Resources – Joseph Kofi Ada

(l) Minister for Works and Housing - Hon Samuel Atta Kyea

The third batch of ministerial nominees are expected to be released in the coming days, Joy News has gathered.


Have your say  

More Politics Headlines

What others are reading
Player Ratings: Ghana 1-0 Kenya
2019 Afcon qualifier: Ekuban debut goal saves Ghana's blushes
Ghana 1-0 Kenya: Five things we learned
First Ghana goal excites Caleb Ekuban