A 98-year-old has cast her ballot at the Abibiman School, Ablekuma Fan Milk 6 polling centre in the Anyaa Sowutuom Constituency.

Christiana Atta said after casting her ballot that she started voting since the Kwame Nkrumah era.

She said, she decided to vote for development and jobs to enable whoever becomes the leader to provide employment for the youth as one of her gifts to generations to come.

“I want a leader that will bring development to the country,” she added.

Abibiman School, Ablekuma Fan Milk has six polling stations, polling station 1 has 397 expected eligible voters, polling station 2 has 399, polling station 3 has 457, while polling station 4 has 459.

The rest are polling station 5 which has 406 eligible voters and polling station 6 has 405 eligible voters.

Mr Ebenezer Odei, the Polling Officer for Station 5 told the GNA that the voting process is going on smoothly.

As at 9:19 am 80 eligible voters had cast their ballot at the Polling station 5.

Mr George Anim, the presiding officer at Centre 2 told the GNA that there were no challenges at the start of the polls.

At polling centre 3 Gayro Elizabeth, an 80-year old voter, told the GNA that she decided to cast her ballot for sake of her grandchildren, since she was old and could die any moment soon.

Six parliamentary candidates are contesting the 2020 General Election at the Anyaa Sowutuom Constituency.

They are: Dr Dickson Adomako Kiss, New Patriotic Party (NPP), Mr Allotey Adotey Emmanuel, National Democratic Congress (NDC) and Madam Hannah Naana Cann, Ghana Union Movement (GUM).

The rest are Madam Joyce Osei Owusu Larbie, Convention People’s Party (CPP), Mr Samuel Afriyie Owusu, Labour Party of Ghana (LPG), Mr Akins Synper, People’s National Convention (PNC).

The voter population for the Anyaa Sowutuom Constituency stands at 135,874.

The constituency, which in the Ga Central Municipality is the stronghold of the NPP with the incumbent MP Shirley Ayorkor Botchway, maintaining the seat since 2005.

In 2012, the NPP had 51,196 votes representing 63.41 per cent, while the NDC had 29,536 of the votes representing 36.59 per cent in the Parliamentary Election.