Carbonatix Pre-Player Loader

Audio By Carbonatix

Searchers beware. Some online downloads for "The Twilight Saga: New Moon" and video interviews with cast members may not be what they seem. They could carry computer viruses. This news came from a computer security company, PC Tools, which said in a news release that a handful of search terms and links should make fans and would-be movie pirates suspicious. Among the phrases to watch out for were: "Watch New Moon Full Movie," "streamviewer," and "Stephenie Meyer at 365Multimedia.com." Yahoo explained further: 365Multimedia.com doesn't actually host interviews (it's a desktop background and screensaver website), and the link in question doesn't actually go there either. Instead, users are directed to a malicious website that takes that age-old scareware path: A pop-up alerts users that they are infected with some sort of malware, and then directs them to a download site so they can get a phony antivirus software product to remedy the issue. 365Multimedia could not be reached immediately for comment, and visitors to the site aren't at risk of getting their machines infected. Scammers have been preying in recent years on the online popularity of news events and pop culture. When a topic like "Twilight" gets hot online, virus engineers use popular search terms to get more clicks and thus infect more machines. Of course, you also could take the "Twilight" virus idea figuratively. As one of the film's actors, Robert Pattinson, told The Boston Globe, "I don't know how, it [the "Twilight" series] just explodes so quickly. It takes seven months to take hold – it's like a virus." Source: CNN

DISCLAIMER: The Views, Comments, Opinions, Contributions and Statements made by Readers and Contributors on this platform do not necessarily represent the views or policy of Multimedia Group Limited.
Tags:  
DISCLAIMER: The Views, Comments, Opinions, Contributions and Statements made by Readers and Contributors on this platform do not necessarily represent the views or policy of Multimedia Group Limited.