The names of many top guns of the National Democratic Congress have emerged ahead of the party’s November 7 parliamentary primaries.

The governing party has set August 27 for opening of nominations prior to the crucial polls.

Ahead of that, a number of veteran MPs from the majority side are also expected to take a bow from the house.

The names that have popped up so far include lawyers and media professionals.

Political scientist and acting Executive Director of the National Service Scheme, Dr Michael Kpessah Whyte is eyeing the Shai Osudoku seat currently occupied by NDC MP, David Tetteh Assumeng.

Communications specialist at the presidency, Sam Dzata George will pick forms to challenge long-serving MP for Ningo Prampram, ET Mensah when the party opens nominations on August 27

Accra Mayor Alfred Oko Vanderpuije  is another name that has emerged.

In a telephone conversation, Mr. Vandepuiye said, “I will make an official announcement if I decide to contest.’’

The 2012 candidate of the NDC in the Dome Kwabena constituency and Ghana’s Ambassador to the Czech Republic, Zita Okaikoi is also expected to make a second attempt at the entering parliament in the same area.

Mrs Okaikoi, however, says she is still ‘’considering’’ whether or not to contest

Former convenor of the Forum for governance and Justice Dr Clement Apaak confirmed his interest in the Builsa South seat with a facebook post on August 15.

He wrote, ‘’Yes I will contest. I will seek the mandate of the rank and file of the NDC in Builsa South as PC! The time has come, we will take back our seat! Eye Zu!”

Broadcaster with Accra-based Radio Gold, Alhassan Suhiyini  will also be seeking to represent the people of Tamale North as the NDC pushes to reclaim the seat it lost to an independent candidate in 2012.

Posters of VRA’s head of corporate communications Samuel Fletcher are already circulating on social media. The experienced communicator has confirmed he will be contesting in the Gomoa west constituency.

The others include, popular actor, Kwame Dzokoto for the Tarkwa Nsuam constituency, Abeiku Santana who is eyeing the Mfantseman West seat and younger brother of late President John Mills, Samuel Atta Mills vying for the nomination for the Komenda Edina Eguafo Abirem constituency.

A number of experienced hands, barring any last minute changes will be hanging their boots.

On the list are, Deputy Speaker, Ebo Barton Odro who is also MP for Cape Coast North.

Ablekuma South MP, Fritz Baffour, according to sources, has decided to step down after being in the house for two terms.

Mfantseman West MP, Aquinas Quansah is also on the list of veterans who won’t be in parliament after 2016.