EC Chairperson, Jean Mensa

The Electoral Commission has closed nominations ahead of this year’s crucial election.

After four weeks of the nomination process, 17 prospective presidential candidates filed their nomination. This consists of 14 political parties and three independent candidates.

It is expected that the Electoral Commissioner, Jean Mensa will brief the media on the just concluded nomination process and offer some information regarding the eligibility of the persons who have filed their nominations.

The nominated presidential aspirants include Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), John Dramani Mahama of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), David Apasera of the People’s National Congress (PNC), Ivor Kobina Greenstreet of the Convention People’s Party (CPP), Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker, an Independent Candidate and Mrs. Bridgete Dzorgbenuku of the Progressive People’s Party (PPP).

The others are Christian Kwabena Andrews of Ghana Union Movement (GUM), Maame Akua Donkor of Ghana Freedom Party (GFP), Nana Konadu Agyemang-Rawlings of National Democratic Party (NDP), Kofi Koranteng Independent candidate, Hassan Ayariga of All People’s Congress (APC) and Dr. Henry Lartey of Great Consolidated People’s Party (GCPP)

Kofi Akpaloo of the Liberal Party of Ghana (LPG), Akwasi Addai Odike of the United Progressive Party (UPP), Kwasi Busumuru of the People’s Action Party (PAP), Nana Agyenim Boateng of the United Front Party (UFP) and Marricke Kofi Gane also an independent candidate all filed their nominations before the 5pm deadline.

It is expected that the Electoral Commission will inform the media on aspirants who successfully filed their candidature and those whose nominations failed to meet the requisite constitutional threshold if any.

Should all 17 nominations succeed, this will be the highest number of candidates for a presidential election