Other Sports

Gyan, Ayew and Afful nominated for SWAG top award

Black Stars trio, Asamoah Gyan, Andre Ayew and Harrison Afful have been nominated for the Football Player of the year in the SWAG Awards scheduled for October.

The nominations were announced on Monday along with over ten other categories which would reward Ghana's leading sports men and women at the Banquet Hall for their exploits in the period under review.

Black Stars captain Asamoah Gyan is the favourite to pick up the award but he will come into close contention with midfielder Andre Ayew and defender Harrison Afful. Gyan was instrumental in reviving the Black Stars' campaign when he scored in dying minutes against Algeria at the Africa Cup of Nations earlier this year after Ghana had lost to Senegal in the opening group game. Ghana went on to become runner-up at the tournament. He also won the UAE league title with his former club Al Ain and was named Asian Football Confederation Foreign Player of the year.

Ayew's performances at the AFCON also attracted a lot of attention. He scored three goals and provided two assists to be named as the leading scorer of the tournament.

Afful was exceptional at the back for his former Tunisian club, Esperance who won the domestic league title and was an integral part of the silver-winning Black Stars at the AFCON in Equatorial Guinea.

Other sports personalities that were nominated included Jennifer Cudjoe for Female footballer of the year, Olympic Gold Martha Bissah for Athlete of the Year and Anthony Baffoe for his contribution to the development of football.

Below is the full list of nominees for the SWAG Awards scheduled to take place at the Banquet Hall on October 3.

Footballer of The Year:
Asamoah Gyan
Andre Dede Ayew
Harrison Afful

Premiership Player of the Year:
Abeiku Ainooson
Kwabena Edusei
Augustine Okrah

Discovery of the Year:
Martha Bissah

Promising Star of the Year:
Sharon Akwei (Para Tae-kwondo)

Female Footballer of the Year:
Jennifer Cudjoe

Amateur Boxer of the Year:
Umar Abdul Walid

Professional Boxer of the Year:
Richard Commey

Judoka of the Year:
Razak Abugri

Tae-Kwondo Player of the Year:
Sharon Akwei

Hockey Player of the Year:
Elizabeth Opoku

Athlete of the Year:
Martha Bissah

Coach of the Year:
Isaac Nii Odartey Lamptey – Trainer of Martha Bissah

Dedication & Valour:
Ali Jaarah

Referee of the Year:
J.O. Lamptey


Edmund Zankoh – Contribution to the development and promotion of hockey in Ghana.

Anthony Baffoe- Contribution to the development of football, esp. at the World Cup Brazil 2014.

Magnus Rex Danquah – Contribution to the development of sports in Ghana.

Akolya Pattel – Contribution to the development and promotion of cricket in Ghana.
Corporate Awards.

McDan Ghana Limited – Contribution to the development and promotion of tennis in Ghana

Dwadifo Adanfo – Contribution to the development of hockey in Ghana.

Follow Joy Sports on Twitter: @Joy997FM. Our hashtag is #JoySports