The Institute of Public Relations, Ghana (IPR) has fixed Wednesday, October 29, 2014 for the election of Executive Committee members for the 2015/2016 term.

Nominations for the various positions: President, Vice President, Honorary Secretary, Deputy Honorary Secretary and Treasurer, opened on Monday, July 14, 2014 and it is expected to close on Friday, August 15, 2014 at 4.00 pm.

A statement signed by the Chairman of the IPR Electoral Committee, Charles Nii Ayiku Ayiku explained that in accordance with Article VIII (2) of the Constitution and Article V(2) (b &c) of the Bye Laws of the Institute; only members of all categories in good standing shall have the right to vote and be voted for.

“Members desiring to offer themselves for election to any of the afore–mentioned Executive Committee positions, are advised to call at the Secretariat to collect nomination forms or visit the IPR website, to download forms. Candidates must be Accredited Members in good standing and only members of all categories in good standing qualify to propose and second the nomination of a candidate,” the statement added.

Mr Ayiku stated that vetting of all qualified candidates would take place after the close of the filing of nominations and added that the results of the vetting would be announced after assessing the aspirants.

The Institute of Public Relations, Ghana (IPR) is the sole professional body for Public Relations practitioners in Ghana.

Among its roles, IPR exists to provide a professional structure for the practice of Public Relations and enhance the ability and status of its members as professional practitioners.

Its current President is Major Albert B. Don-Chebe (Rtd) APR. He also doubles as the Director-General of the Ghana Broadcasting Corporation.

Past Presidents of the institute include Mrs Vicky Wireko-Andoh, APR; immediate past President, Mr Kojo Yankah, FIPR; Rev Kwaku Osei-Bimpong, APR; Mr Nabanyin Pratt, APR and Mr Joseph Emmanuel Allotey-Pappoe, FIPR.

Others are Barima Adanse Akeyem Omane, APR; Mr Mike Anamzoya, APR; Mr Fraser Ntem, APR and Madam Regina Agboso, APR.