Oko Nikoi Djanie has been elected President of the Ghana Hockey Association (GHA) for a four-year term of office.

The elected officer who has chaired the hockey governing body for over a decade was elected unopposed at the Association’s first ever Congress held on Friday, May 21, at the National Hockey Stadium in Accra.

The Congress which attracted stakeholders across the country was in line with requirements of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) regarding sports associations.

Eleven out of the 14 organs within the Association attended the session which also saw the adoption of a constitution for the Association.

Richard Akpokavie was also elected unopposed as Vice President with Elizabeth King going for the Treasurer position.

The two slots onto the Executive Board were contested for by Esinam Lotsu, Agatha Hagan and Nii Quaye Kumah.

Kumah and Hagan cruised on after polling nine and seven votes respectively against six by Lotsu.

The 11-member Executive Board was sworn into office by Chief Executive Officer of the National Sports Council, Mr Worlanyo Agrah.

The Executives are Oko Nikoi Djanie – President, Richard Akpokavie – Vice President, Vivian Dougblor – Secretary General, Elizabeth King – Honorary Treasurer, Bernard A. Annan (Ghana Education Service), Dr Abdulai Salifu (Northern Region), Amoo Gottfried (Ashanti Region), Frank Awuku (Greater Accra), Angelina Ocran (Security Services Sports Association), Agatha Hagan (Member) and Nii Quaye Kumah (Member).

Nikoi Djanie in his acceptance speech pledged commitment to the development of hockey across the country.

Source: GNA