One hundred and forty-one parliamentary candidates in the Northern Region have filed their nominations to contest in the 26 constituencies in this year’s election.

Out of that number, 13 who are females are contesting in ten out of the 26 constituencies.

The ten constituencies are Bole-Bamboi, Nalerigu, Damongo-Daboya, Chereponi, Gushiegu, Savelugu, Tamale North, Tamale South, Tamale Central and Walewale.

In the Kumbungu Constituency where there was an earlier misunderstanding among supporters of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) regarding the alleged decision of the party’s hierarchy to field former vice presidential candidate of the party, Alhaji Mohammed Mumuni, the issue was resolved and the incumbent MP, Alhaji Imoro Yakubu, filed to contest on the ticket of the NDC.

The Regional Director of the Electoral Commission (EC), Mr Sylvester Kanyi, made this known to newsmen in Tamale on Sunday.

According to him, 16 of the aspirants filed as independent candidates.

Parties that fielded parliamentary candidates were the NDC, the New Patriotic Party (NPP), the Convention People’s Party (CPP), the People’s National Convention (PNC), the Democratic People’s Party (DPP), the New Vision Party (NVP) and the Democratic Freedom Party (DFP).

He further indicated that BunkpuruguYunyoo and Savelugu constituencies each recorded the highest number of eight aspirants, and added that the Yendi, Yapei Kusawgu and Kpandai constituencies recorded seven aspirants each.

Mr Kanyi described the whole filing process as peaceful and called on the various political parties and their supporters to translate that into making the elections generally peaceful.

Source: Daily Graphic