Award winners displaying their awards

The President of Ghana Institution of Engineering (GhIE), Ing. Rev. Prof. Charles Anum Adams, has said that Ghana will work if engineers are recognised and given the chance to lead in the infrastructural development of the country.

Ing. Anum made this statement when he delivered his speech at the GhIE 2022 Engineering Excellence Awards held on Thursday, November 24, 2022 at the Engineers Centre, Accra.

“Ghana is where it is because of the works of engineers, so if we put more efforts in putting engineering first in Ghana, the country will develop”, Ing. Prof. Rev. Charles Anum Adams explained.

The Engineering President added that GhIE insists to uphold standards, that this country builds infrastructure to last so that generations benefit what we have been built.

The Special Guest of Honour, Ing. Emmanuel Antwi-Darkwa, Chief Executive of Volta River Authority (VRA) said he is proud to be part of GhIE and have no doubt that the institution’s quest to build and develop a strong world class professional body by promoting integrity, accountability and excellence in the practice of engineering in Ghana, is very much on course.

He acknowledged how greatly he had benefited from the mentorship and coaching of some outstanding engineers and non-engineers who helped shaped his career.

On the theme for the 2022 Engineering Excellence Awards, the VRA Boss said, the theme for the awards, “Engineering, Resilience in the Face of Climate Change & Pandemic”, is not just one that is timely and relevant, but also thought-provoking.

He called on engineering professionals to strategically position themselves to weather current and future challenges and other uncertainties.

On the excellence awards, Ing. Prof. Elsie Effah Kaufmann of the National Maths & Science Quiz fame received the Distinguished Woman in Engineering Award.

Other award winners include Ing. Dr. William Ackaah and Ing. Prof. Samuel K. Tulashie, recipients of Research (Academic-Industrial) awards; Augustina Nyarko Amoateng, received the Engineering Craftmanship award; whilst Associated Consultants received the Engineering Business Management awards. Ing. Dr. William Ackaah again received the most published Author in Engineering award.

Amandi Investment Limited received the Implementation of Engineering Solutions award; whilst SAYeTech and Ing. Prof. Samuel K. Tulashie received two separate awards for being winners of the Engineering Concepts and Innovations awards.

Prince Dumevor also received Engineering Craftmanship award, while Clement Adu-Addae and Ing. Benedict Atta Poku got two separate awards in the Outstanding Engineering Knowledge & Exemplary Achievement in the Young Innovators category.

In the Public Works category, Ing. Yaw Osafo Marfo, the Senior Minister of the ruling NPP Government, received the Distinguished Public Official award. Ing. Kwabena Agyei Agyepong also received the Outstanding Contribution and Service to the Ghana Institution of Engineering. Ing. Emmanuel Wireko Brobby received the Outstanding Engineering Innovation, whilst Emmanuel Kwasi Debrah, a Journalist of Multimedia Group, received the Engineering Evangelism award.

On Public Schools, Methodist Girls SHS, received a public award for being winners of the 2020 Coderz Robotics and Coding Competition; while Our Lady of Grace SHS also received award for being winners of the 2021 National Robotics Inspired Science Education Competition.

Present at the ceremony were Past Presidents of the GhIE, Council members, President-Elect of GhIE, Ing. Kwabena Bempong, Executive Director of GhIE, Ing. David Nyante, officials from VRA, Bui Power Authority, Fabrimetal, who were official sponsors of the GhIE 2022 Engineering Excellence Awards.

DISCLAIMER: The Views, Comments, Opinions, Contributions and Statements made by Readers and Contributors on this platform do not necessarily represent the views or policy of Multimedia Group Limited.

DISCLAIMER: The Views, Comments, Opinions, Contributions and Statements made by Readers and Contributors on this platform do not necessarily represent the views or policy of Multimedia Group Limited.