List of polling stations for 2016 elections out

The Electoral Commission (EC) has released the final list of polling stations for the 2016 general elections.

With a total of 28,992 centres across the country, the Ashanti Region has the most polling stations with 5,190 stations for electorates to cast their ballots while the Upper West Region has the least stations – 991. 

In her recent meeting with Otumfuo and the Asanteman Traditional Council, the EC Chair Charlotte Osei said the Commission this year has increased the number of polling stations from 22,000, in the 2012 election to 29,000. 

She added that this was to prevent the situation where many queue at one polling stations.

There were complaints from voters during the last election who had to stay for long hours in queues even after the mandated 5 p.m closing time, in order to be able to cast their vote. Many voters across the country waited for hours to take their turn and vote.

The EC was challenged as some polling centers did not have power after polls closed and special provisions had to be made so as not to disenfranchise some voters. 

According to the Commission, they have put measures in place to avoid this situation and increasing the number of polling stations is one of the measures. 

Below is the regional breakdown


ASHANTI                 5,190
BRONG AHAFO        2,963
CENTRAL                 2,482
EASTERN                 3,243
NORTHERN                2,688
UPPER EAST            1,226
UPPER WEST              991
VOLTA                       2,506
WESTERN                  2,941

Total                        28,992