Charles Adu-Boahen, a former Deputy Finance Minister has been elevated to the position of Minister of State at the Finance Ministry, according to a list of Deputy Minister nominees from the Office of the President.

He is said to have closely worked with the Finance Minister, Ken Ofori-Atta, in the first term of President Akufo-Addo regime and excelled, a situation that triggered his promotion.

Media reports had stated that the decision to make the Chemical Engineer turned Investment Banker a Minister of State is strategic to assist the country’s fight to rebuild her economy after the impact of covid-19 pandemic.

Additionally, his elevation has been seen as a vote of confidence in the son of  late Professor Albert Adu- Boahen, a former Presidential candidate of the ruling NPP.

Other nominees are Abena Osei-Asare and John Kumah, both Deputy Ministers of Finance designates.

For Trade and Industry, the new Deputy Minister nominees are Herbert Krapa, Michael Okyere Baafi and Nana Dokua Asiamah.

Mohammed Amin Adam and William Owuraku Aidoo retained their positions as nominees for Deputy Ministers of Energy designate, while Andrew Agyapa Mercer is a new addition.

The Ministry of Food and Agriculture has two Deputy Minister nominees in the persons of Yaw Frimpong Addo and Mohammed Hardi Tuferu.

Former Head of Hitz FM, part of the Multimedia Group, Mark Okraku-Mantey has also been nominated as a Deputy Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture.

Bright Wireko-Brobbey maintained his position as Deputy Minister designate of Employment and Labour Relations.

Former Chief Executive of National Petroleum Authority, Hassan Tampuli is now a Deputy Minister of Transport nominee, alongside Frederick Obeng Adom.

The above nominees will have to go through vetting per the the constitution, before their appointments are confirmed or not.