Persons holding ordinary or diplomatic Ghanaian passports can now travel to some six countries after Parliament approved a visa waiver deal last week.

Ghanaians with valid passports can now travel to India, Iran, Colombia, Equatorial Guinea, Hungary, and Morocco without a visa.

Parliament approved the visa waiver deal last Friday.

The Minister of Foreign Affairs submitted the paperwork to parliament for approval.

Already, South Africa’s Department of Home Affairs has added Ghana to a list of seven countries whose nationals will be permitted to enter South Africa visa-free.

South Africa announced in September 2018, that it was finalising a number of visa waiver agreements with other countries including Ghana to allow travellers to enter the country without a visa.

The South African visa waiver covered only diplomatic passport but not ordinary passport officeholders.