Other Sports

Kenyan Kipkorir wins Obudu Mountain Race

For the second consecutive year, a Kenyan has won the Obudu Mountain Race. Kemboi Hilary Kipkorir on Saturday emerged tops to cart home the $50,000 star prize in the men’s category of the 10th edition of the event.

The ninth edition for the same category was won by Rono Philemon, a Kenyan.

Kipkorir, who competed among past champions in the 11 kilometre men’s race, accomplished the feat in a total of 1:02.34minutes.

Genet Yalew of Ethiopia won the female category of the race when she returned in 1:01:20 minute to become the first woman to win the championship back-to-back having also won the ninth edition.

Abebe Dinkesa of Ethiopia, who came second in the ninth edition, clocked 1:03:09 minutes while Kiplimo Philip of Uganda clocked 1:03:19 minutes to win the second and third position in the male categories of the race respectively.

Chessang Stella of Uganda won the second position while Ababel Yesshaneh of Ethiopia came third in the female category with a time of 1:01:31 and 1:03:03 minutes respectively.

Emmanuel Gyang and Cletus Eyo won the first and second best finishers for Nigerians in the male category with 1:15:23 and 1:18:47 minutes respectively.

Eyo, who is from Cross River State, came 19th while Gyang was 15th in the race’s ranking in the 11 kilometre race for men.

Deborah Pam from Plateau State, who emerged sixth in the female category with a time of 1:10:09 minutes, was adjudged the best finisher in the female category of Saturday’s race.

Team Uganda, Team Kenya and Team Nigeria came first second and third respectively in the female category of the 6th African Nations Mountain Running Championship.

Team Uganda, Team Eritrea and Team Kenya also came first, second and third in the male edition of the championship which was part of the event.

The organisers also gave awards to all outstanding individuals including the late Danny Hills, former President, World Mountain Running Association and Bruno Gozzalino, current President of WMRA.

Donald Duke and Liyel Imoke, past and current governors of Cross River State, were also presented with excellence awards as initiator and sustainer respectively of the Obudu Mountain race.

Declaring the race closed, Imoke, who was represented by his deputy, Mr. Efiok Cobham, promised to encourage incoming administration of the state to sustain the race.