The Greater Accra regional branches of the main opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) and the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) are set to engage in a fierce electoral battle to capture the region with completion of primaries in all 27 constituencies.

The two leading contenders in Election 2008 are contesting all the 27 parliamentary seats in the region with NDC nominating 26 males and one female; whilst the NPP has 22 men and five women to do battle.

Mr. Daniel Annang, NDC regional chairman and Mr Albert Afaglo, NPP acting regional secretary, in separate interviews with the Ghana News Agency on Friday outlined their operational strategy to win the region.

The seats being contested for are; Ablekuma South, Mr Fritz Baffour for the NDC as against Mr Francis Kojo-Smith of the NPP; Ashaiman, Mr Alfred Agbesi, NDC against Mr Francis Bennard Ayenator of the NPP; Korle-Klotey, Nii Armah Ashietey, NDC against Mr Samuel James Adjei Tawaih of NPP.

Others are: Shai Osudoku, Mr David Asumeng for the NDC against Mr Daniel Dugan of the NPP; Tema East, Mr Kempex Ofosuware for NDC against Mr Evans Ashong Narh of the NPP; Ada, Mr Alex Tetteh Enyo for the NDC against Mr Kofi Plahar of the NPP; Sege, Alfred Abayatei for NDC against Mr Divine Otoo Agorhum of the NPP.

Ablekuma North, Mr Alfred Tawiah Smith for the NDC against Justice Joe Appiah of the NPP; Krowor, Dr Kwei Kumah for the NDC against Mr Joseph Ayikoi Otoo of the NPP; Kpone Katamanso, Nii Laryea Agbo for the NDC against Mr Samuel Okoh Amankwah of the NPP; Abokobi Madina, Alhaji Adamu Sorogho for the NDC against Mr Abdulai Baba Zakaria of the NPP.

The rest are: Ayawaso Central, Dr Ofei Agyemang for the NDC against Sheikh Isaac Cudjo Quaye of the NPP; Ayawaso West Wugoon, Mr Kojo Twum Boafo for the NDC against Madam Akosua Opare of the NPP; Ayawaso East, Dr Mustapha Ahmed for the NDC against Mr Salisu Baba of the NPP.

La Dedekotopon, Nii Amasah Namoale for the NDC will contest against Dr Francis Nii Annan Sowah of the NPP; Ningo Prampram, Mr Enoch Tei Mensah for the NDC against Mr Abednego Tawaih Okorno of the NPP; Obom Domeabra, Mr David Yemoah for the NDC against Nii Ayitey Boafo of the NPP; Odododiodio, Nii Tackie-Kome for the NDC against Mr Adjei Sowah of the NPP; Weija, Mr Sherif Doudo for the NDC against Ms Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey of the NPP.

Dome Kwabenya, Sabah Okaikoi Zita is standing for the NDC against Prof. Mike Ocquaye of the NPP; Adenta, Mr Ben Adu Asare for the NDC against Mr Kwadwo Opare-Hammond of the NPP; Ledzokuku, Nii Nortey Duah for the NDC against Mrs Gladys Norley Ashitey of the NPP.

Okaikoi South, Mr Isaac Mensah is standing for the NDC against Nana Akomea of the NPP; Ablekuma Central, Mr Theophilous Chea for the NDC against Mr Robert Sarbah of the NPP; Trobu Amasaman, Mr Ernest Atoquaye Armah for the NDC against Mr Moses Anim of the NPP; Okaikoi North, Mr Augustus Kwaku Ashong for the NDC against Mrs Elizabeth Tawiah Sackey of the NPP and for Tema West, Mr George Medie for the NDC against Ms Irene Naa-Torshie Addo of the NPP.

Both parties claimed that they had identified operation shortfalls during Elections 2004 that led to the loss of strategic seats and had adopted measures to win 80 percent of seats in the region.

“We have adopted a modern political party organization strategy aimed at propelling the party to retain our seats and win back all other seats we lost marginally to our opponents,” Mr Annang told the GNA.

In Election 2004, the NPP won 16 out of the 27 seats whilst the NDC had 11. In the presidential election, President John Agyekum Kufuor won the region by 51.9 per cent of the valid votes cast as against 46.3 percent by Professor John Evans Atta Mills.

The other political parties, the People’s National Convention, the Convention People’s Party, Democratic Freedom Party, Democratic People’s Party, Great Consolidated Popular Party and the newly formed parties are yet to complete their primaries.

Source: GNA