EC Chairperson, Jean Mensa

The Electoral Commission (EC) has said there is no room for disqualified aspirants to appeal to the Commission to be considered.

Head of Public Relations for the Commission Sylvia Annor explained that the aspirants were given ample time to go through the filing process, therefore, will not have any another opportunity.

“Now we are over and done with that process and we are moving ahead with other process,” she told JoyNews.

She said the EC will proceed with the balloting process.

This comes after five out of the 17 aspirants who filed to contest the 2020 Presidential seat were disqualified by the EC.

The five: Kwesi Addae Odike, Kofi Koranteng, Marricke Kofi Gane, Kwasi Busumbru and Nana Agyenim Boateng were disqualified because of what the EC described as inconsistencies with their filing forms.

Their cases bothered on allegations of forgery of signatures and the manufacturing of endorsees which will be forwarded to the Police Criminal Investigation Department (CID) for further probe.

According to the Commission, the said aspirants were duly informed about the inconsistencies and were given time to respond to the issues, which they did.

This, the Head of Public Relations explained has made it necessary for the Commission to move ahead with other processes.

She, however, noted that the Commission is yet to officially write to inform the aspirants about their disqualification.

She further said the attention of the Criminal Investigations Department (CID) has been drawn on the matter for further investigations to be conducted.