For three glorious weeks of football, two fantastic cities – Casablanca and Rabat – will play host to the battle for the Women’s Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON).

Even though Ghana’s Black Queens did not qualify, a feast of football is guaranteed to excite on the fields of the North African nation.

When: 2 – 23 July
Where: Morocco
What: TotalEnergies Women’s Africa Cup of Nations.

How to watch: Build up and live coverage on GTV Sports+ and SuperSport

The 2022 TotalEnergies African Women’s Cup of Nations will be held from 2 – 23 July in Morocco in two of the world’s most famous cities, Casablanca and Rabat.

Hosts Morocco will kick off the tournament in Rabat against Burkina Faso at the Prince Moulay Abdellah Complex at 20h30 GMT.

Aside the hosts, Uganda, Burundi, Zambia, Senegal, Togo, Nigeria (champions), Tunisia, Burkina Faso, Botswana, Cameroon and South Africa will compete for the 14th edition of the Cup.

The tournament doubles up as the African qualifiers for the 2023 Fifa Women’s World Cup and the top four teams at the WAFCON will automatically qualify for the World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

Two more teams will be advancing to the inter-confederation play-offs to contest for the final three Fifa Women’s World Cup spots.

Morocco has only competed in the AWCON twice, in 1998 and 2000, both times exiting at the group round. Their women’s league, which was introduced in November 2019, demonstrates how their women’s football development structures have improved in recent years. They will look to advance past the group stage in this year’s edition.

Nigeria have won 11 of the previous 13 African women’s titles, including the last edition in 2018, and been to all eight previous World Cups, but they will face a stiff challenge from the likes of Cameroon, South Africa and Zambia this year.


GROUP A: Morocco, Burkina Faso, Senegal, Uganda

GROUP B: Cameroon, Zambia, Tunisia, Togo

GROUP C: Nigeria, South Africa, Burundi, Botswana