The Kwahu indigenes have expressed dissapointment over what they say is an exclusion from appointments to President Akufo-Addo’s cabinet.

They argue that over 80% of their votes went to the New Patriotic Party (NPP) and thereby feel left out when it comes to cabinet and other sensitive positions.

Addressing a press conference, spokesperson for the concerned citizens, Frank Odame Agyare said, “the president in his first term appointed Bryan Acheampong as a minister of state which we complained but nothing was done about it. In his second term, we have been neglected completely.”

He explained that “in Kwahu NDC doesn’t get lots of votes but they always appoint Kwahu’s in sensitive positions.”

“During the first tenure John Agyekum Kuffuor, he gave Kwahu’s Eastern Regional Minister and Deputy (ie Osarfo Mensah and Suzy Mensah) at the same time, Deputy Minister of Communications ie Aggrey Ntim and Deputy Trade Minister (Afram Asiedu).

“In his Second Term still, Kwahus were maintained as Eastern Regional Ministers( ie Afram Asiedu and Suzy Mensah) and Aggrey Ntim was elevated to sector Minister of Communications,” Mr Odame added.

In the latest appointment by President Akufo-Addo, he appointed the former Member of Parliament for Mpraeso Constituency as the Eastern regional Minister-designate.

Seth Acheampong who was Chairman of the Defence and Interior committee in the 7th Parliament replaces Eric Kwakye Darfuor as regional Minister – both of whom hail from the Kwahu tonwship.

However, none of the area’s residents made it into the list of Cabinet Ministers.

President Akufo-Addo on Thursday, January 21, 2021, released a total of 46 Ministers for his second term, a down size from 126 that served in his first term. Names of the designated Ministers have been submitted to the Parliament for vetting.

The statement announced that the Office of the Senior Minister has been canceled.

“In all, President Akufo-Addo will appoint a total of 30 Ministers, and 16 Regional Ministers, bringing the total number of Ministers to 46.

“Eight of this number are women – six Ministers and two Regional Ministers. This is the list that will be submitted to Parliament by the President on Thursday.”