President Akufo-Addo has said all political parties’ manifesto promises will be of no use in the absence of peace in a country.

“These manifestoes and political promises will come to nought if there is no peace, you can assemble the sharpest brains and the greatest workaholics to run a government but if there’s no peace, your promises remain promises..,” he said.

Speaking at the signing of a Presidential Peace Pact 2020 Friday, he said no one will win if there is no peace in Ghana.

Flagbearers of the two major political parties, New Patriotic Party (NPP) and the National Democratic Congress (NDC) have on Friday signed a peace pact ahead of the December 7 general elections.

The 3rd High-Level Meeting of the Presidential Elections Peace Pact 2020 is aimed at reducing tension in the various political camps before, during and after the polls.

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo and former President John Mahama, are also expected to work towards eradicating vigilantism during the elections.

He, however, observed that “It is in the interest of the political parties that there’s not only the absence of violence but the absence of tension and that there is a truly peaceful atmosphere throughout the country”. 

Pledging his support towards a peaceful election, Akufo-Addo said the NPP have faith in an electoral process that is genuinely free and fair, and ready to accept the outcome of the results.

“We believe in an electoral process in which the losers will feel that they have been in a fair fight, and will willingly congratulate the winners and go back to regroup to seek more persuasive ways to convince the electorates”.

Akufo-Addo further called on the security agencies to “to be up and doing in their work and making sure that the atmosphere in our country is one conducive to the conduct of a fair and transparent process.”

The event which took place at the Mövenpick Ambassador Hotel in Accra was moderated by the Executive Director of the Ark Foundation and Member of the Civic Forum Initiative, Dr Angela Dwamena-Aboagye.

Present at the ceremony included the National Chief Imam, Sheikh Osman Nuhu Sharubutu, President of the National House of Chiefs, Ogyeahohuo Yaw Gyebi II, Executive Director of Institute of Democratic Governance (IDEG), Dr Emmanuel Akwetey among others.

Chairperson of the Electoral Commission, Jean Mensa and former Liberian President, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf also graced the occasion.