A total of 24 candidates are contesting for the eight constituencies in the Oti Region, according to data from the Electoral Commissioner in the Oti Region, Nuhu Mahama.

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) and the National Democratic Congress (NDC) have filed for all eight Constituencies namely, in Buem, Biakoye, Akan, Krachi East, Krachi West, Krachi Nchumuru, Nkwanta North and Nkwanta South.  

A candidate each from the Progressive People’s Party (PPP) Mr William Felix Ograh for the Nkwanta South and the People’s National Convention’s (PNC) Mr Adams Darko-Boateng represent the Buem seat.

Three National Democratic Party (NDP) candidates would contest in three Constituencies, Akan, Krachi Nchumuru and Biakoye with two candidates of the Ghana Union Movement (GUM) peaching camp in Buem and Akan Constituencies respectively.

The data showed some 22 males and two females, Mrs Helen Adjoa Ntoso, an incumbent Member of Parliament for Karachi West on the ticket of the NDC with Mrs Sherifa Selina Sekyere Tidjani of the Nkwanta South Constituency representing the NPP.Dr. Inusah Abdul-Nasiru is the only independent candidate contesting the Krachi Nchumuru parliamentary seat.

Professional categorisation of the candidates included; six Educationists, three farmers, and two lawyers.There are also a Public Servant, a Civil Engineer, an Entrepreneur, an Electronic Technician, a Project Manager, a Marketer, a Legislature, a Trader and a Chartered Accountant.

The ages of the candidates in the race range from 31 to 70.Twenty one candidates are married, while two, Mr Israel Nnigmaka and Mr Bless Oti John Kwabena are single and Mr Michael Yaw Gyato, a widower.