Deputy Minister for Tourism, Arts & Culture, Mark Okraku Mantey

The Deputy Minister-designate for Tourism, Arts & Culture, Mark Okraku Mantey will appear before Parliament’s Appointments Committee, Tuesday.

He and three other appointees; Alfred Tuah-Yeboah, Herbert Krapa, Fatimatu Abubakr, are the last of President Akufo-Addo’s Deputy Ministerial nominees to be vetted by the Committee.

The three will be heading to the Office of the Attorney General & Ministry of Justice, Trade & Industry and Information respectively if approved by Parliament.

These nominees will use the opportunity to inform the Committee Chair, Joseph Osei Owusu and his members about how they will assist their substantive Ministers and make the President’s second term a success.

So far, 35 appointees have been vetted by the 25-member Committee since it commenced vetting on Wednesday, June 2.

While others had the opportunity to be vetted by the whole Committee, four others were unable to be interrogated by the NDC MPs on the Committee.

Reasons provided for the absence of Minority MPs at the vetting of Martin Adjei Mensah Korsah, Lariba Zuweira, Amidu Issahaku and Diana Asonaba, had to do with the unresolved violence that occurred at the Techiman South constituency in the 2020 general elections.

But Deputy Ranking Member on the Committee, Muntaka Mubarak and his colleague, Mahama Ayariga have dismissed such claims. revealing that the Minority MPs were absent because they partook in the Green Ghana Project in their various constituencies per the order of Speaker Alban Bagbin.