MP for Kwadaso, Dr Samiu Nuamah has joined a tall list of incumbent MPs to have been defeated in the NPP Parliamentary primaries.

He lost the belated polls on Wednesday to Dr Kingsley Nyarko with 172 votes against 158 as another contender, Vincent Frimpong Manu fell third with 42 votes.

Elections had to be postponed to Wednesday after delegates challenged voters’ register being used for the elections.

Wild jubilations welcomed the announcement of Dr. Nyarko as parliamentary aspirant for the Kwadaso Constituency.

Supporters carried him shoulder high disregarding all protocols of Covid-19.

Speaking to the press, he called on other contestants to help him retain the seat for the party in the December general elections.

The constituency after being carved out of the Bantama Constituency is known for changing aspirants.

Hilda Addoh was first MP serving only one term, Dr. Owusu Afriyie-Akoto after two terms was defeated by incumbent MP Samiu Kwadwo Nuamah.

Ahead of this elections, voter album was contested after names of some delegates were missing from the album.

A three member committee led by Dennis Kwakwa implemented a directive from the party headquarters which brought some calm to the constituency.

Not all delegates were reinstated but many were satisfied.

Most delegates who were unable to find their names in the register had to forgo their franchise for peace to prevail.

There was heavy police and military presence at the constituency.

Some confrontation ensued between supporters of the incumbent and the winning candidate in Apatrapa Polling Station few minutes before close of polls but security personnel quelled it.