Tamale Senior High School has won the Northern Zonal Champions of the 2021 National Science & Maths Quiz.

They become the first school in the five regions of the North to be crowned winners of the Zonal Competition.

Tamasco fought off competition from Notre Dame Seminary SHS and St. Francis Xavier Minor Seminary, both regional champions from Upper East and Upper West respectively, in the finals.

Their win in the Northern zone makes them the third regional champions after PRESEC-Legon successfully defended its crown in Greater Accra region, and Mfantsipim School which also won the 2021 edition of the Central regional tournament.

Tamasco set the pace for the contest after it secured a commanding 20-point lead in the speed race by ending the round with 41 points. It grew its lead to 54 points by the end of the third round, making it statistically impossible for any of the other schools to overturn its lead.

NSMQ2021: Perfect 'salah' gift as Tamale SHS wins maiden Northern Zonal Championship

‘We are the true landlords of the north and we don’t say that just by word of mouth. We proved that on the stage also, just to show everybody that we are the best in the north’, one of the Tamasco contestants told JoyNews.

For the boys from Notre Dame, it was just hard luck and fatigue on the day. They however promised to make a stronger statement at the national tournament when they go to Accra in October.

Tamasco’s journey to the finals of the zonal championship has been fireworks right from the regional qualifiers where they made 65 points, a score which could not be beaten by any school in the five northern regions.

NSMQ2021: Perfect 'salah' gift as Tamale SHS wins maiden Northern Zonal Championship

They outclassed opponents from Navrongo SHS who were seeded in the 2020 competition, St. Freancis Girls, St. Francis Xavier, Sandema SHTS, Jirapa SHS,Yendi, Kumbungu, Wapuli, Kanton SHS Kumbungu SHS, Yendi SHS and Wapuli Community SHS and several others.

In all, 20 schools have qualified to represent the five northern regions in the national tournament all of them starting from the preliminary stage except Northern School of Business and Navrongo SHS.