Ghana Women’s rugby team, the Eagles, will compete at Rugby Women’s Sevens tournament 2019.

The games will be held at the Mustapha Ben Jannet Stadium in Monastir, Tunisia October 12-13, is for their participation in the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games and the World Rugby Sevens Series qualifier tournament.

The tournament organised by Rugby Africa is in partnership with Société Générale, is the second time Rugby Africa is hosting an Olympic qualifying event on the continent since Rugby Sevens debuted at the Olympic Games in Rio 2016.

The other African teams to compete in are Kenya, Uganda, Tunisia, Madagascar, Zimbabwe, Senegal, Botswana, Zambia, Morocco, Mauritius, South Africa.

Appearing at the Rugby Women’s Sevens Tournament this year will be Ghana’s debut since this will be their first time integrating into the African championship.

The gold medallist of the tournament will qualify directly for the next Summer Olympics in Tokyo 2020.

The silver and bronze medallists will have another opportunity to qualify by competing in a global repechage tournament to be held in June 2020.

The first and second-placed teams will be able to participate for the World Rugby Sevens Series qualifier tournament.

In a press release by Africa Women’s Sevens, Rugby Africa President Khaled Babbou says, “We are very pleased and express our gratitude to the Fédération Tunisienne de Rugby (FTR) to host the Africa Women’s Sevens 2019 edition.”

He added, “Africa aims for high level and international recognition, and I believe especially Women’s Sevens Rugby has a great potential to promote and reveal our talents in Africa and to get more players on the continent into rugby.

“I am convinced the women’s games will capture the public’s imagination and I wish all teams good luck in this qualifier event. I know that they have prepared very hard for it and hope that all teams can show their best form when they fight for their participation in one of the most prestigious sports events in the world.”

On October 12, 2019, Ghana will play against Kenya, Senegal and Botswana.